Orivian

Aspen · FY2023 municipal finance benchmarks

Pitkin County · Central Mountains & Resort · home rule municipality · Pop. 6,489 (2025 estimate); FY2023 per-resident figures use 6,639 · Census finance data FY2016–FY2023

Latest Census Bureau finance data for Aspen: FY2023. Retrieved Oct 2026. Newer years are added when the Census Bureau publishes them. Why the lag?

FY2023 in brief

Aspen collected $28,149 per resident (including city-run utilities), 7.9× the median of the 97 Colorado municipalities reporting that year, 5.8× its peers. Debt per resident runs 3.7× peers.

Regional hub: sales tax per resident is 3.8× the Colorado median.

  • Tax revenue per resident withheld: Tax revenue per resident is 6.2x the peer median

Generated from the figures below. Every number links to its Census source.

Compared with

Nearest on population, household income and region

FY2023 headline figures

Revenue per resident (definition)

$28,149
5.8× peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$4,833
CO median · 97 with a published figure
$3,580
Position
Higher than 98% of the 97 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
+21.4%/yr

Expenditures per resident (definition)

$20,953
5.0× peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$4,222
CO median · 91 with a published figure
$3,680
Position
Higher than 96% of the 91 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
+15.0%/yr

Tax revenue per resident (definition)

Peer median
Benchmark unavailable
CO median · 90 with a published figure
$1,726
Position
Not reported for this year
5-year changenominal dollars
Withheld with this year's value

Debt per resident (definition)

$10,009
3.7× peers
Peer median
$2,693
CO median · 91 with a published figure
$2,130
Position
Higher than 90% of the 91 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
+8.4%/yr

Where the money comes from and where it goes

Per resident, FY2023. Bars show Aspen; the gold tick is the peer median. How categories work

Regional hub: sales tax per resident is 3.8× the Colorado median.

Sales tax per resident is high, which usually means many non-residents shop, stay or work here. Per-resident figures divide citywide totals by residents only, so they overstate what residents themselves pay and use.

The biggest difference from peers is General government: $7,109 per resident, 7.1× the peer median. On the revenue side, other revenue is 14.8× peers.

Money in

Revenue

$28,149
per resident5.8× peers
Money in: Aspen revenue per resident by category, FY2023, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$7,13714.8×peers $482
$3,7055.6×peers $663
$3,1614.7×peers $674
$2,7873.4×peers $816
Withheldpeers $1,610
Withheldpeers $500
Withheldpeers $54
Peer median of 5 peers · Colorado median of 97 reporting

Money out

Spending

$20,953
per resident5.0× peers
Money out: Aspen spending per resident by category, FY2023, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$7,1097.1×peers $1,001
$6,6759.8×peers $678
$2,8152.6×peers $1,064
$2,1495.0×peers $426
$1,06598% abovepeers $537
$714No peer comparisonpeers $0
$4246.0×peers $71
Peer median of 5 peers · Colorado median of 91 reporting

Aspen and its peers

The five Colorado municipalities nearest on population, median household income and region. Budget size isn’t a matching factor, so peers aren’t chosen on the figures being compared. Per resident, FY2023. How peers are chosen

Open in Compare
Aspen compared with its peer municipalities, FY2023, per resident
MunicipalityRevenueExpendituresTax revenueSales taxDebt
AspenUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 13.2% of total revenue in FY2023. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.Regional hub: Sales tax per resident is 3.8× the Colorado median.$28,149$20,953$4,438$10,009
AvonUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 0.4% of total revenue in FY2023. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.Regional hub: Sales tax per resident is 1.9× the Colorado median.$7,045$2,943$4,982$2,186$2,830
SalidaUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 9.5% of total revenue in FY2023. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$3,661$4,222$1,788$1,610$2,556
GunnisonUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 32.3% of total revenue in FY2023. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$4,833$4,441$1,834$1,341$2,017
EagleUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 19.6% of total revenue in FY2023. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$4,540$2,926$1,814$1,260$3,214
SilverthorneUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 7.7% of total revenue in FY2023. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.Regional hub: Sales tax per resident is 2.9× the Colorado median.$8,639$12,413$4,551$3,363Not reported for this year
Peer median$4,833$4,222Benchmark unavailable$1,610$2,693

Utilities marks a municipality whose revenue and spending include city-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit), which raises its per-resident totals.

Regional hub marks a municipality whose sales tax per resident is at least 1.5× the Colorado median: a shopping or visitor hub where people who live elsewhere pay much of the sales tax.

Sources

Book a walkthrough