Police spending per resident (definition)FY2016
- Peer median
- Not reported for this year
- CO median
- Not reported for this year
- Position
- Not reported for this year
- 5-year change
- Not reported for this year
Lake County · Central Mountains & Resort · Pop. 2,668 (2025 estimate); 2016 per-resident figures use 2,644 · Public safety data 2016–2025
Leadville had 3.4 sworn officers per 1,000 residents in 2016, in line with its peers. Reported violent crime was 2.3 per 1,000 residents, 18% above the Colorado median, and property crime was 27% below the median.
Generated from the figures below. Every number links to its source.
Notes: spending is fiscal-year Census data; staffing and crime are calendar-year FBI data via CBI. Dollars are nominal. Definitions: orivian.ai/benchmarks/methodology#public-safety
Compared with
The finance peers: nearest on population, household income and region
Reporting agency: Leadville Police Department (ORI CO0330100) · 12 of 12 months reported.
Spending: FY2016, the government's fiscal year (Census). Staffing: 2016, sworn officers on the payroll October 31 (FBI).
per 1,000 residents
Reported crime reflects what is reported to police and how it is recorded, not only how much crime occurs.
per 1,000 residents
Based on fewer than 10 reported incidents; small changes move this rate a lot.
per 1,000 residents
Not shown
Leadville · Violent crime clearance rate · 2016
Reason: Fewer than 10 violent crimes reported; a clearance rate would not be meaningful
1Metric
— Police spending divided by population
= Police spending ÷ population
Full definition: Police spending per resident2Inputs
Reported directly; no derived inputs.
3Census line items
No line items recorded.
4Source file
No source recorded.
1Metric
— Police spending as a share of total expenditure
= Police spending ÷ total expenditure
Full definition: Police share of spending2Inputs
Reported directly; no derived inputs.
3Census line items
No line items recorded.
4Source file
No source recorded.
1Metric
— Police spending divided by sworn officers. Police spending covers civilian staff, equipment and construction as well as officer pay, so this is not a salary figure.
= Police spending ÷ sworn officers
Full definition: Police spending per officer2Inputs
Reported directly; no derived inputs.
3Census line items
No line items recorded.
4Source file
No source recorded.
1Metric
3.4 Sworn officers per 1,000 residents
= Sworn officers ÷ population * 1000
Full definition: Officers per 1,000 residents2Inputs
Sworn officers 9 · Population 2,644 (2016 estimate)
3Who is counted
Included by definition; counts are the agency’s totals.
4Source file
Crime Data Explorer police employees, 2016
Retrieved October 12, 2026 · View source: Crime Data Explorer police employees, 2016 (opens in a new tab)
Population Estimates Program, Vintage 2020 - incorporated places
Retrieved October 7, 2026 · View source: Population Estimates Program, Vintage 2020 - incorporated places (opens in a new tab)
1Metric
2.3 Violent crimes per 1,000 residents
= Violent crimes ÷ population * 1000
Full definition: Violent crime rate2Inputs
Violent crimes 6 · Population 2,644 (2016 estimate)
3Offenses included (FBI definitions)
Included by definition; counts are the agency’s totals.
4Source file
Crime Data Explorer summarized offenses and clearances, 2016
Retrieved October 12, 2026 · View source: Crime Data Explorer summarized offenses and clearances, 2016 (opens in a new tab)
Population Estimates Program, Vintage 2020 - incorporated places
Retrieved October 7, 2026 · View source: Population Estimates Program, Vintage 2020 - incorporated places (opens in a new tab)
1Metric
16.6 Property crimes per 1,000 residents
= Property crimes ÷ population * 1000
Full definition: Property crime rate2Inputs
Property crimes 44 · Population 2,644 (2016 estimate)
3Offenses included (FBI definitions)
Included by definition; counts are the agency’s totals.
4Source file
Crime Data Explorer summarized offenses and clearances, 2016
Retrieved October 12, 2026 · View source: Crime Data Explorer summarized offenses and clearances, 2016 (opens in a new tab)
Population Estimates Program, Vintage 2020 - incorporated places
Retrieved October 7, 2026 · View source: Population Estimates Program, Vintage 2020 - incorporated places (opens in a new tab)
Not shown
Leadville · Violent crime clearance rate · 2016
Reason: Fewer than 10 violent crimes reported; a clearance rate would not be meaningful
1Not shown
Fewer than 10 violent crimes reported; a clearance rate would not be meaningful.
2Offenses included (FBI definitions)
Included by definition; counts are the agency’s totals.
3Source file
Crime Data Explorer summarized offenses and clearances, 2016
Retrieved October 12, 2026 · View source: Crime Data Explorer summarized offenses and clearances, 2016 (opens in a new tab)
1Metric
20.5% Property crimes cleared as a share of property crimes reported. Clearances can include offenses from earlier years, so this can exceed 100%.
= Property crimes cleared ÷ property crimes
Full definition: Property crime clearance rate2Inputs
Property crimes cleared 9 · Property crimes 44
3Offenses included (FBI definitions)
Included by definition; counts are the agency’s totals.
4Source file
Crime Data Explorer summarized offenses and clearances, 2016
Retrieved October 12, 2026 · View source: Crime Data Explorer summarized offenses and clearances, 2016 (opens in a new tab)
The same five peers as the finance pages. Police spending is per resident for the fiscal year shown; staffing and crime are per 1,000 residents for 2016. How peers are chosen
| Fiscal year · Census | Calendar year · FBI via CBI | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Municipality | Police spendingper resident · FY2016 | Officers per 1,000 residentsper 1,000 · 2016 | Violent crimeper 1,000 · 2016 | Property crimeper 1,000 · 2016 | Violent crime clearance2016 |
| Leadville | Not reported for this year | 3.4 | 2.3 | 16.6 | Not shown Leadville · Violent crime clearance rate · 2016 Reason: Fewer than 10 violent crimes reported; a clearance rate would not be meaningful |
| Buena Vista | $315 | 2.9 | 0.4 | 23.5 | Not shown Buena Vista · Violent crime clearance rate · 2016 Reason: Fewer than 10 violent crimes reported; a clearance rate would not be meaningful |
| Snowmass Village | $618 | 3.6 | 0.4 | 17.5 | Not shown Snowmass Village · Violent crime clearance rate · 2016 Reason: Fewer than 10 violent crimes reported; a clearance rate would not be meaningful |
| Palisade | $111 | 2.9 | 2.2 | 13.7 | Not shown Palisade · Violent crime clearance rate · 2016 Reason: Fewer than 10 violent crimes reported; a clearance rate would not be meaningful |
| Telluride | $750 | 4.1 | 0.8 | 22.4 | Not shown Telluride · Violent crime clearance rate · 2016 Reason: Fewer than 10 violent crimes reported; a clearance rate would not be meaningful |
| Frisco | $497 | 3.4 | 1.4 | 27.5 | Not shown Frisco · Violent crime clearance rate · 2016 Reason: Fewer than 10 violent crimes reported; a clearance rate would not be meaningful |
| Peer median | Not reported for this year | 3.4 | 0.8 | 22.4 | Benchmark unavailable |
Police spending by fiscal year; staffing and crime by calendar year. Lines break where a year is missing or withheld; nothing is interpolated.
Calendar year
Peer group changed in 2021. Peers are matched each year, so the peer median can step when the group changes.
| Year | This city | Peer median | Colorado median |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016 | 3.4 | 3.4 | 2.4 (145 reporting, sample year) |
| 2017 | 2.9 | 3.4 | 2.2 (145 reporting, sample year) |
| 2018 | 2.6 | 3.6 | 2.2 (152 reporting, sample year) |
| 2019 | 2.5 | 3.3 | 2.2 (153 reporting, sample year) |
| 2020 | 2.3 | 3.1 | 2.2 (153 reporting, sample year) |
| 2021 | 0.8 | 3.8 | 2.3 (155 reporting, sample year) |
| 2022 | 0.0 | 3.8 | 1.9 (155 reporting, sample year) |
| 2023 | 1.5 | 3.6 | 2.3 (155 reporting, sample year) |
| 2024 | 1.9 | 3.5 | 2.4 (155 reporting, sample year) |
| 2025 | 2.2 | 4.4 | 2.5 (143 reporting, sample year) |
Calendar year
Peer group changed in 2018, 2019, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. Peers are matched each year, so the peer median can step when the group changes.
| Year | This city | Peer median | Colorado median |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016 | 2.3 | 0.8 | 1.9 (126 reporting, sample year) |
| 2017 | 1.5 | 0.7 | 1.7 (129 reporting, sample year) |
| 2018 | 1.5 | 2.4 | 2.1 (126 reporting, sample year) |
| 2019 | 2.9 | 1.2 | 2.0 (130 reporting, sample year) |
| 2020 | 3.4 | 0.4 | 2.0 (140 reporting, sample year) |
| 2021 | 2.7 | 2.1 | 2.5 (133 reporting, sample year) |
| 2022 | 1.5 | 1.6 | 2.4 (121 reporting, sample year) |
| 2023 | 0.8 | 0.6 | 2.5 (122 reporting, sample year) |
| 2024 | 0.4 | 1.5 | 2.1 (135 reporting, sample year) |
| 2025 | 0.7 | 0.8 | 2.1 (139 reporting, sample year) |
Calendar year
Peer group changed in 2018, 2019, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. Peers are matched each year, so the peer median can step when the group changes.
| Year | This city | Peer median | Colorado median |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2016 | 16.6 | 22.4 | 22.9 (126 reporting, sample year) |
| 2017 | 9.6 | 19.0 | 21.6 (129 reporting, sample year) |
| 2018 | 11.4 | 17.7 | 20.2 (126 reporting, sample year) |
| 2019 | 9.6 | 8.6 | 18.3 (130 reporting, sample year) |
| 2020 | 15.3 | 14.4 | 19.5 (140 reporting, sample year) |
| 2021 | 13.8 | 16.7 | 20.9 (133 reporting, sample year) |
| 2022 | 12.2 | 13.8 | 20.6 (121 reporting, sample year) |
| 2023 | 11.4 | 12.1 | 19.6 (122 reporting, sample year) |
| 2024 | 8.7 | 10.0 | 15.9 (135 reporting, sample year) |
| 2025 | 4.1 | 8.5 | 13.6 (139 reporting, sample year) |
Annual Survey of State & Local Government Finances 2017 - Individual Unit File · 2017 survey file
U.S. Census Bureau
Crime Data Explorer police employees, 2016 · 2016
FBI Crime Data Explorer (NIBRS data submitted by Colorado agencies through the Colorado Bureau of Investigation)
Crime Data Explorer summarized offenses and clearances, 2016 · 2016
FBI Crime Data Explorer (NIBRS data submitted by Colorado agencies through the Colorado Bureau of Investigation)
Population Estimates Program, Vintage 2020 - incorporated places · 2020
U.S. Census Bureau
Every figure on this page is read from the published index; nothing is recalculated for display. Read the methodology
Public data shows the what. Orivian connects your city's own calls-for-service, overtime and work-order data to show the why.