Orivian

Marble · FY2021 municipal finance benchmarks

Gunnison County · Central Mountains & Resort · statutory town · Pop. 133 (2025 estimate); FY2021 per-resident figures use 138 · Census finance data FY2016, FY2021

Latest Census Bureau finance data for Marble: FY2021. Retrieved Oct 2026. Newer years are added when the Census Bureau publishes them. Why the lag?

FY2021 in brief

Marble collected $2,341 per resident (including city-run utilities), 5% below the median of the 227 Colorado municipalities reporting that year, in line with its peers. Debt per resident runs 30% above the state median.

  • Tax revenue per resident withheld: Tax revenue per resident is 21% of the peer median

Generated from the figures below. Every number links to its Census source.

Compared with

Nearest on population, household income and region

FY2021 headline figures

Revenue per resident (definition)

$2,341
in line with peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$2,306
CO median · 227 with a published figure
$2,476
Position
Higher than 44% of the 227 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
+18.2%/yr

Expenditures per resident (definition)

$1,957
54% above peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$1,274
CO median · 220 with a published figure
$2,208
Position
Higher than 43% of the 220 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
+57.3%/yr

Tax revenue per resident (definition)

Peer median
Benchmark unavailable
CO median · 201 with a published figure
$1,072
Position
Not reported for this year
5-year changenominal dollars
Withheld with this year's value

Debt per resident (definition)

$1,833
30% above CO median
Peer median
Benchmark unavailable
CO median · 199 with a published figure
$1,411
Position
Higher than 61% of the 199 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
+56.5%/yr

Where the money comes from and where it goes

Per resident, FY2021. Bars show Marble; the gold tick is the peer median. How categories work

The biggest difference from peers is General government: $1,000 per resident, 76% above the peer median. On the revenue side, Marble reports no sales tax; peers collect $855 per resident.

Money in

Revenue

$2,341
per residentin line with peers
Money in: Marble revenue per resident by category, FY2021, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$1,2613.1×peers $407
$457178.0×peers $3
$2323.8×peers $62
$11615% belowpeers $136
None reported · peers $855$0None reported
Withheldpeers $528
Withheldpeers $13
Peer median of 4 peers · Colorado median of 227 reporting

Money out

Spending

$1,957
per resident54% above peers
Money out: Marble spending per resident by category, FY2021, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$1,00076% abovepeers $569
$38474.9×peers $5
$25410% belowpeers $281
$23955% belowpeers $531
$80No peer comparisonpeers $0
Peer median of 4 peers · Colorado median of 220 reporting

Marble and its peers

The five Colorado municipalities nearest on population, median household income and region. Budget size isn’t a matching factor, so peers aren’t chosen on the figures being compared. Per resident, FY2021. How peers are chosen

Open in Compare
Marble compared with its peer municipalities, FY2021, per resident
MunicipalityRevenueExpendituresTax revenueSales taxDebt
MarbleUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 5.0% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$2,341$1,957Not reported for this year$1,833
OphirUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 8.3% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$3,282$1,328$1,421Not reported for this year
Silver PlumeUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 13.5% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$2,874$3,930$1,337$920Not reported for this year
Pitkin$1,737$789$1,184$855Not reported for this year
Montezuma$1,027$1,219$753Not reported for this yearNot reported for this year
Peer median$2,306$1,274Benchmark unavailableNot reported for this yearBenchmark unavailable

Utilities marks a municipality whose revenue and spending include city-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit), which raises its per-resident totals.

Sources

Book a walkthrough