Orivian

Snowmass Village · 2023 public safety benchmarks

Pitkin County · Central Mountains & Resort · Pop. 2,965 (2025 estimate); 2023 per-resident figures use 2,941 · Public safety data 2016–2025

2023 in brief

Snowmass Village spent $843 per resident on police in FY2023, 97% above the median of the 91 Colorado municipalities reporting. It had 3.4 sworn officers per 1,000 residents in 2023, in line with its peers.

  • Violent crime rate (2023) withheld: Agency reported 11 of 12 months
  • Property crime rate (2023) withheld: Agency reported 11 of 12 months
  • Violent crime clearance rate (2023) withheld: Agency reported 11 of 12 months; Fewer than 10 violent crimes reported; a clearance rate would not be meaningful

Generated from the figures below. Every number links to its source.

Compared with

The finance peers: nearest on population, household income and region

Reporting agency: Snowmass Village Police Department (ORI CO0490200) · 11 of 12 months reported.

Spending & staffing

Spending: FY2023, the government's fiscal year (Census). Staffing: 2023, sworn officers on the payroll October 31 (FBI).

Police spending per resident (definition)FY2023

$843
in line with peers
Peer median
$854
CO median · 91 with a published figure
$428
Position
Higher than 81% of the 91 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Police share of spending (definition)FY2023

4.8%
36% below peers
Peer median
7.5%
CO median · 87 with a published figure
12.6%
Position
Higher than 6% of the 87 reporting
5-year change
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Police spending per officer (definition)FY2023

$248K
in line with peers
Peer median
$240.3K
CO median · 84 with a published figure
$207.3K
Position
Higher than 78% of the 84 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Officers per 1,000 residents (definition)2023

3.4
in line with peers

per 1,000 residents

Peer median
3.6
CO median · 155 with a published figure
2.3
Position
Higher than 69% of the 155 reporting
5-year change
−0.2 per 1,000

Reported outcomes

Reported crime reflects what is reported to police and how it is recorded, not only how much crime occurs.

Violent crime rate (definition)2023

Based on fewer than 10 reported incidents; small changes move this rate a lot.

Peer median
Benchmark unavailable
CO median · 122 with a published figure
2.5
Position
Not reported for this year
5-year change
Withheld with this year's value

Property crime rate (definition)2023

Peer median
Benchmark unavailable
CO median · 122 with a published figure
19.6
Position
Not reported for this year
5-year change
Withheld with this year's value

Violent crime clearance rate (definition)2023

Peer median
Benchmark unavailable
CO median · 76 with a published figure
52.7%
Position
Not reported for this year
5-year change
Withheld with this year's value

Property crime clearance rate (definition)2023

Peer median
Benchmark unavailable
CO median · 111 with a published figure
16.0%
Position
Not reported for this year
5-year change
Withheld with this year's value

Snowmass Village and its peers

The same five peers as the finance pages. Police spending is per resident for the fiscal year shown; staffing and crime are per 1,000 residents for 2023. How peers are chosen

Snowmass Village compared with its peer municipalities: police spending per resident and per-1,000 staffing and crime rates
MunicipalityPolice spendingper resident · FY2023Officers per 1,000 residentsper 1,000 · 2023Violent crimeper 1,000 · 2023Property crimeper 1,000 · 2023Violent crime clearance2023
Snowmass Village$8433.4
Frisco$8493.5
Telluride$8543.60.820.2
Granby$8563.61.810.7
Vail$1,8916.85.347.979.2%
Silverthorne$6272.61.621.7
Peer median$8543.6Benchmark unavailableBenchmark unavailableBenchmark unavailable

Sources · Retrieved October 12, 2026 from orivian.ai/benchmarks/public-safety

Book a walkthrough