Orivian

Eaton · FY2021 municipal finance benchmarks

Weld County · Northern Front Range · statutory town · Pop. 5,848 (2025 estimate); FY2021 per-resident figures use 5,876 · Census finance data FY2016, FY2021

Latest Census Bureau finance data for Eaton: FY2021. Retrieved Oct 2026. Newer years are added when the Census Bureau publishes them. Why the lag?

FY2021 in brief

Eaton collected $1,473 per resident (including city-run utilities), 41% below the median of the 227 Colorado municipalities reporting that year, 53% below its peers. Debt per resident runs 92% below peers.

  • Tax revenue per resident withheld: Tax revenue per resident is 29% of the peer median

Generated from the figures below. Every number links to its Census source.

Compared with

Nearest on population, household income and region

FY2021 headline figures

Revenue per resident (definition)

$1,473
53% below peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$3,154
CO median · 227 with a published figure
$2,476
Position
Higher than 20% of the 227 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
+7.1%/yr

Expenditures per resident (definition)

Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
Benchmark unavailable
CO median · 220 with a published figure
$2,208
Position
Not reported for this year
5-year changenominal dollars
Withheld with this year's value

Tax revenue per resident (definition)

Peer median
Benchmark unavailable
CO median · 201 with a published figure
$1,072
Position
Not reported for this year
5-year changenominal dollars
Withheld with this year's value

Debt per resident (definition)

$358
92% below peers
Peer median
$4,216
CO median · 199 with a published figure
$1,411
Position
Higher than 15% of the 199 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
−19.7%/yr

Where the money comes from and where it goes

Per resident, FY2021. Bars show Eaton; the gold tick is the peer median. How categories work

On the revenue side, the biggest difference from peers is Intergovernmental: none reported, against a peer median of $128 per resident.

Money in

Revenue

$1,473
per resident53% below peers
Money in: Eaton revenue per resident by category, FY2021, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$38218% belowpeers $464
$292in line withpeers $286
$27113% abovepeers $240
None reported · peers $128$0None reported
Withheldpeers $774
Withheldpeers $460
Withheldpeers $105
Peer median of 5 peers · Colorado median of 227 reporting

Money out

Spending

Categories are withheld with the total until it is verified against Eaton’s audited financial report.

Peer median of 5 peers · Colorado median of 220 reporting

Eaton and its peers

The five Colorado municipalities nearest on population, median household income and region. Budget size isn’t a matching factor, so peers aren’t chosen on the figures being compared. Per resident, FY2021. How peers are chosen

Open in Compare
Eaton compared with its peer municipalities, FY2021, per resident
MunicipalityRevenueExpendituresTax revenueSales taxDebt
EatonUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 25.9% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,473$387$358
DaconoUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 18.5% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$2,303$2,833$948$393$4,422
Mead$3,154$2,391$1,839$774$299
Estes ParkUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 48.6% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.Regional hub: Sales tax per resident is 4.2× the Colorado median.$9,298$9,364$3,952$3,638$7,026
LochbuieUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 25.8% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,799$790$409$255$663
Fort LuptonUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 21.6% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$4,875$3,568$2,287$1,061$4,216
Peer median$3,154Benchmark unavailableBenchmark unavailable$774$4,216

Utilities marks a municipality whose revenue and spending include city-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit), which raises its per-resident totals.

Regional hub marks a municipality whose sales tax per resident is at least 1.5× the Colorado median: a shopping or visitor hub where people who live elsewhere pay much of the sales tax.

Sources

Book a walkthrough