Orivian

Fort Lupton · FY2023 municipal finance benchmarks

Weld County · Northern Front Range · statutory city · Pop. 10,402 (2025 estimate); FY2023 per-resident figures use 9,444 · Census finance data FY2016, FY2021, FY2023

Latest Census Bureau finance data for Fort Lupton: FY2023. Retrieved Oct 2026. Newer years are added when the Census Bureau publishes them. Why the lag?

FY2023 in brief

Fort Lupton collected $6,892 per resident (including city-run utilities), 93% above the median of the 97 Colorado municipalities reporting that year, 2.0× its peers. Tax revenue per resident sits 2.5× its peers, and 96% above the state median. Debt per resident runs 4.5× peers.

Generated from the figures below. Every number links to its Census source.

Compared with

Nearest on population, household income and region

FY2023 headline figures

Revenue per resident (definition)

$6,892
2.0× peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$3,375
CO median · 97 with a published figure
$3,580
Position
Higher than 77% of the 97 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Expenditures per resident (definition)

$4,363
24% above peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$3,526
CO median · 91 with a published figure
$3,680
Position
Higher than 62% of the 91 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Tax revenue per resident (definition)

$3,390
2.5× peers
Peer median
$1,380
CO median · 90 with a published figure
$1,726
Position
Higher than 74% of the 90 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Debt per resident (definition)

$7,515
4.5× peers
Peer median
$1,678
CO median · 91 with a published figure
$2,130
Position
Higher than 87% of the 91 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Where the money comes from and where it goes

Per resident, FY2023. Bars show Fort Lupton; the gold tick is the peer median. How categories work

The biggest difference from peers is Parks, libraries & community: $1,717 per resident, 9.5× the peer median. On the revenue side, other revenue is 6.4× peers.

Money in

Revenue

$6,892
per resident2.0× peers
Money in: Fort Lupton revenue per resident by category, FY2023, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$1,7646.4×peers $277
$1,48823% abovepeers $1,214
$1,0728.1×peers $132
$8308.5×peers $97
$67081% abovepeers $370
$53551% belowpeers $1,101
$53423% abovepeers $432
Peer median of 4 peers · Colorado median of 97 reporting

Money out

Spending

$4,363
per resident24% above peers
Money out: Fort Lupton spending per resident by category, FY2023, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$1,7179.5×peers $180
$99737% belowpeers $1,573
$51615% belowpeers $607
$49647% belowpeers $932
$3473.1×peers $111
$27226.5×peers $10
$17No peer comparisonpeers $0
Peer median of 4 peers · Colorado median of 91 reporting

Fort Lupton and its peers

The five Colorado municipalities nearest on population, median household income and region. Budget size isn’t a matching factor, so peers aren’t chosen on the figures being compared. Per resident, FY2023. How peers are chosen

Open in Compare
Fort Lupton compared with its peer municipalities, FY2023, per resident
MunicipalityRevenueExpendituresTax revenueSales taxDebt
Fort LuptonUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 7.8% of total revenue in FY2023. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$6,892$4,363$3,390$1,488$7,515
TrinidadUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 37.9% of total revenue in FY2023. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$4,931$5,200$1,757$1,472$257
Estes ParkUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 44.3% of total revenue in FY2023. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.Regional hub: Sales tax per resident is 3.5× the Colorado median.$11,394$11,678$4,347$3,994$6,548
SeveranceUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 18.9% of total revenue in FY2023. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,775$1,852$589$299Not reported for this year
Federal HeightsUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 16.3% of total revenue in FY2023. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,820$1,633$1,004$955Not reported for this year
Peer median$3,375$3,526$1,380$955$1,678

Utilities marks a municipality whose revenue and spending include city-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit), which raises its per-resident totals.

Regional hub marks a municipality whose sales tax per resident is at least 1.5× the Colorado median: a shopping or visitor hub where people who live elsewhere pay much of the sales tax.

Sources

Book a walkthrough