Orivian

Frederick · FY2016 municipal finance benchmarks

Weld County · Northern Front Range · statutory town · Pop. 18,241 (2025 estimate); FY2016 per-resident figures use 9,762 · Census finance data FY2016, FY2021, FY2023

You’re viewing FY2016. See the latest view (FY2023). Latest Census Bureau finance data for Frederick: FY2023. Retrieved Oct 2026. Newer years are added when the Census Bureau publishes them. Why the lag?

FY2016 in brief

Frederick collected $2,087 per resident (including city-run utilities), 20% above the median of the 224 Colorado municipalities reporting that year, 36% above its peers. Tax revenue per resident sits 12% below its peers, but 6% above the state median. Debt per resident runs 9% above peers.

Generated from the figures below. Every number links to its Census source.

Compared with

Nearest on population, household income and region

FY2016 headline figures

Revenue per resident (definition)

$2,087
36% above peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$1,534
CO median · 224 with a published figure
$1,746
Position
Higher than 60% of the 224 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Expenditures per resident (definition)

$1,691
in line with CO median
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
Benchmark unavailable
CO median · 196 with a published figure
$1,749
Position
Higher than 49% of the 196 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Tax revenue per resident (definition)

$748
12% below peers
Peer median
$854
CO median · 193 with a published figure
$705
Position
Higher than 53% of the 193 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Debt per resident (definition)

$651
9% above peers
Peer median
$595
CO median · 220 with a published figure
$1,072
Position
Higher than 37% of the 220 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Where the money comes from and where it goes

Per resident, FY2016. Bars show Frederick; the gold tick is the peer median. How categories work

On the revenue side, the biggest difference from peers is Utility & transit charges: $840 per resident, 2.9× the peer median.

Money in

Revenue

$2,087
per resident36% above peers
Money in: Frederick revenue per resident by category, FY2016, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$8402.9×peers $287
$4718% belowpeers $510
$27919% abovepeers $234
$15856% belowpeers $360
$11987% abovepeers $64
$11412% belowpeers $130
$10741% belowpeers $181
Peer median of 5 peers · Colorado median of 224 reporting

Money out

Spending

$1,691
per resident
Money out: Frederick spending per resident by category, FY2016, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
Peer median unavailable$583No peer comparison
Peer median unavailable$332No peer comparison
Peer median unavailable$306No peer comparison
Peer median unavailable$270No peer comparison
Peer median unavailable$173No peer comparison
Peer median unavailable$27No peer comparison
None reported$0None reported
None reported$0None reported
Peer median of 2 peers · Colorado median of 196 reporting

Frederick and its peers

The five Colorado municipalities nearest on population, median household income and region. Budget size isn’t a matching factor, so peers aren’t chosen on the figures being compared. Per resident, FY2016. How peers are chosen

Open in Compare
Frederick compared with its peer municipalities, FY2016, per resident
MunicipalityRevenueExpendituresTax revenueSales taxDebt
FrederickUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 40.2% of total revenue in FY2016. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$2,087$1,691$748$471$651
FirestoneUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 18.7% of total revenue in FY2016. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,534$748$510$378
JohnstownUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 11.2% of total revenue in FY2016. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,869$1,218$539Not reported for this year
WellingtonUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 23.2% of total revenue in FY2016. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,178Not reported for this year$221
MillikenUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 32.3% of total revenue in FY2016. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,113$943$536$186$811
Fort LuptonUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 22.7% of total revenue in FY2016. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$2,287$1,868$960$526$2,000
Peer median$1,534Benchmark unavailable$854$518$595

Utilities marks a municipality whose revenue and spending include city-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit), which raises its per-resident totals.

Sources

Book a walkthrough