Orivian

Grand Lake · FY2021 municipal finance benchmarks

Grand County · Central Mountains & Resort · statutory town · Pop. 402 (2025 estimate); FY2021 per-resident figures use 410 · Census finance data FY2016, FY2021, FY2023

You’re viewing FY2021. See the latest view (FY2023). Latest Census Bureau finance data for Grand Lake: FY2023. Retrieved Oct 2026. Newer years are added when the Census Bureau publishes them. Why the lag?

FY2021 in brief

Grand Lake collected $12,210 per resident, 4.9× the median of the 227 Colorado municipalities reporting that year, 4.2× its peers. Debt per resident runs 8.9× peers.

Regional hub: sales tax per resident is 8.0× the Colorado median.

  • Tax revenue per resident withheld: Tax revenue per resident is 6.6x the peer median

Generated from the figures below. Every number links to its Census source.

Compared with

Nearest on population, household income and region

FY2021 headline figures

Revenue per resident (definition)

$12,210
4.2× peers
Peer median
$2,913
CO median · 227 with a published figure
$2,476
Position
Higher than 97% of the 227 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
+14.7%/yr

Expenditures per resident (definition)

Peer median
Benchmark unavailable
CO median · 220 with a published figure
$2,208
Position
Not reported for this year
5-year changenominal dollars
Withheld with this year's value

Tax revenue per resident (definition)

Peer median
Benchmark unavailable
CO median · 201 with a published figure
$1,072
Position
Not reported for this year
5-year changenominal dollars
Withheld with this year's value

Debt per resident (definition)

$13,837
8.9× peers
Peer median
$1,548
CO median · 199 with a published figure
$1,411
Position
Higher than 96% of the 199 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
+73.4%/yr

Where the money comes from and where it goes

Per resident, FY2021. Bars show Grand Lake; the gold tick is the peer median. How categories work

Regional hub: sales tax per resident is 8.0× the Colorado median.

Sales tax per resident is high, which usually means many non-residents shop, stay or work here. Per-resident figures divide citywide totals by residents only, so they overstate what residents themselves pay and use.

On the revenue side, the biggest difference from peers is Intergovernmental: $2,473 per resident, 7.2× the peer median.

Money in

Revenue

$12,210
per resident4.2× peers
Money in: Grand Lake revenue per resident by category, FY2021, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$2,4737.2×peers $342
$83970% abovepeers $494
$73431.7×peers $23
None reported · peers $836$0None reported
Withheldpeers $955
Withheldpeers $159
Withheldpeers $72
Peer median of 4 peers · Colorado median of 227 reporting

Money out

Spending

Categories are withheld with the total until it is verified against Grand Lake’s audited financial report.

Peer median of 4 peers · Colorado median of 220 reporting

Grand Lake and its peers

The five Colorado municipalities nearest on population, median household income and region. Budget size isn’t a matching factor, so peers aren’t chosen on the figures being compared. Per resident, FY2021. How peers are chosen

Open in Compare
Grand Lake compared with its peer municipalities, FY2021, per resident
MunicipalityRevenueExpendituresTax revenueSales taxDebt
Grand LakeRegional hub: Sales tax per resident is 8.0× the Colorado median.$12,210$6,861$13,837
YampaUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 36.6% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,935$1,640$652$418$1,126
Lake CityUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 18.1% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.Regional hub: Sales tax per resident is 1.8× the Colorado median.$4,270$1,326$1,807$1,576$1,970
EmpireUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 32.2% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$3,292$2,484$1,245$1,062Not reported for this year
NorwoodUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 35.5% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$2,535$1,949$1,043$848$469
Peer median$2,913Benchmark unavailableBenchmark unavailable$955$1,548

Utilities marks a municipality whose revenue and spending include city-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit), which raises its per-resident totals.

Regional hub marks a municipality whose sales tax per resident is at least 1.5× the Colorado median: a shopping or visitor hub where people who live elsewhere pay much of the sales tax.

Sources

Book a walkthrough