Orivian

Haswell · FY2021 municipal finance benchmarks

Kiowa County · Eastern Plains · statutory town · Pop. 71 (2025 estimate) · Census finance data FY2016, FY2021

Latest Census Bureau finance data for Haswell: FY2021. Retrieved Oct 2026. Newer years are added when the Census Bureau publishes them. Why the lag?

FY2021 in brief

Haswell collected $1,028 per resident (including city-run utilities), 58% below the median of the 227 Colorado municipalities reporting that year, 24% above its peers. Tax revenue per resident sits 32% below its peers, and 91% below the state median. Debt per resident runs 78% below the state median.

Generated from the figures below. Every number links to its Census source.

Compared with

Nearest on population, household income and region

FY2021 headline figures

Revenue per resident (definition)

$1,028
24% above peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$830
CO median · 227 with a published figure
$2,476
Position
Higher than 7% of the 227 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
+12.1%/yr

Expenditures per resident (definition)

$831
in line with peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$804
CO median · 220 with a published figure
$2,208
Position
Higher than 6% of the 220 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
+17.4%/yr

Tax revenue per resident (definition)

$99
32% below peers
Peer median
$145
CO median · 201 with a published figure
$1,072
Position
Higher than 3% of the 201 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Debt per resident (definition)

$310
78% below CO median
Peer median
Benchmark unavailable
CO median · 199 with a published figure
$1,411
Position
Higher than 13% of the 199 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
−10.9%/yr

Where the money comes from and where it goes

Per resident, FY2021. Bars show Haswell; the gold tick is the peer median. How categories work

The biggest difference from peers is General government: $127 per resident, 41% below the peer median. On the revenue side, other revenue is 5.3× peers.

Money in

Revenue

$1,028
per resident24% above peers
Money in: Haswell revenue per resident by category, FY2021, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$45151% abovepeers $298
$2115.3×peers $40
$1972.2×peers $89
$7034% belowpeers $107
$5648% belowpeers $108
$42No peer comparisonpeers $0
Peer median of 5 peers · Colorado median of 227 reporting

Money out

Spending

$831
per residentin line with peers
Money out: Haswell spending per resident by category, FY2021, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$43716% abovepeers $375
$183No peer comparisonpeers $0
$12741% belowpeers $214
$7021% belowpeers $89
$14No peer comparisonpeers $0
Peer median of 3 peers · Colorado median of 220 reporting

Haswell and its peers

The five Colorado municipalities nearest on population, median household income and region. Budget size isn’t a matching factor, so peers aren’t chosen on the figures being compared. Per resident, FY2021. How peers are chosen

Open in Compare
Haswell compared with its peer municipalities, FY2021, per resident
MunicipalityRevenueExpendituresTax revenueSales taxDebt
HaswellUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 43.8% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,028$831$99Not reported for this year$310
Sheridan Lake$446$304$71Not reported for this yearNot reported for this year
VonaUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 28.1% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,659$1,193Not reported for this yearNot reported for this year
PaoliUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 66.7% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$420Not reported for this yearNot reported for this yearNot reported for this yearNot reported for this year
PritchettUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 44.1% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$830$804$214Not reported for this year$1,714
CrookUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 33.3% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$893$145Not reported for this yearNot reported for this year
Peer median$830$804$145Not reported for this yearBenchmark unavailable

Utilities marks a municipality whose revenue and spending include city-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit), which raises its per-resident totals.

Sources

Book a walkthrough