Orivian

Orchard City · FY2021 municipal finance benchmarks

Delta County · Western Slope · statutory town · Pop. 3,299 (2025 estimate); FY2021 per-resident figures use 3,193 · Census finance data FY2016, FY2021

Latest Census Bureau finance data for Orchard City: FY2021. Retrieved Oct 2026. Newer years are added when the Census Bureau publishes them. Why the lag?

FY2021 in brief

Orchard City collected $1,453 per resident (including city-run utilities), 41% below the median of the 227 Colorado municipalities reporting that year, 19% below its peers. Debt per resident runs 13% below peers.

  • Tax revenue per resident withheld: Tax revenue per resident is 7% of the peer median

Generated from the figures below. Every number links to its Census source.

Compared with

Nearest on population, household income and region

FY2021 headline figures

Revenue per resident (definition)

$1,453
19% below peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$1,800
CO median · 227 with a published figure
$2,476
Position
Higher than 20% of the 227 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
+9.1%/yr

Expenditures per resident (definition)

$695
66% below peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$2,038
CO median · 220 with a published figure
$2,208
Position
Higher than 3% of the 220 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
−4.8%/yr

Tax revenue per resident (definition)

Peer median
Benchmark unavailable
CO median · 201 with a published figure
$1,072
Position
Not reported for this year
5-year changenominal dollars
Withheld with this year's value

Debt per resident (definition)

$516
13% below peers
Peer median
$591
CO median · 199 with a published figure
$1,411
Position
Higher than 23% of the 199 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Where the money comes from and where it goes

Per resident, FY2021. Bars show Orchard City; the gold tick is the peer median. How categories work

The biggest difference from peers is Public safety: $1 per resident, 100% below the peer median. On the revenue side, intergovernmental is 2.9× peers.

Money in

Revenue

$1,453
per resident19% below peers
Money in: Orchard City revenue per resident by category, FY2021, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$9362.9×peers $326
$46963% abovepeers $288
$379% belowpeers $12
$0100% belowpeers $411
None reported · peers $368$0None reported
None reported · peers $85$0None reported
Withheldpeers $76
Peer median of 5 peers · Colorado median of 227 reporting

Money out

Spending

$695
per resident66% below peers
Money out: Orchard City spending per resident by category, FY2021, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$60321% belowpeers $764
$5186% belowpeers $366
$2872% belowpeers $99
$1287% belowpeers $94
$1100% belowpeers $508
None reported · peers $19$0None reported
Peer median of 4 peers · Colorado median of 220 reporting

Orchard City and its peers

The five Colorado municipalities nearest on population, median household income and region. Budget size isn’t a matching factor, so peers aren’t chosen on the figures being compared. Per resident, FY2021. How peers are chosen

Open in Compare
Orchard City compared with its peer municipalities, FY2021, per resident
MunicipalityRevenueExpendituresTax revenueSales taxDebt
Orchard CityUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 32.3% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,453$695Not reported for this year$516
SiltUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 17.6% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,303$1,562$494$336$591
PalisadeUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 11.2% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$3,787$2,513$1,474
RangelyUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 28.6% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$2,278$2,681$528$368$438
BayfieldUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 14.5% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,800$650Not reported for this year
MeekerUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 24.4% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,182$1,136$739$500Not reported for this year
Peer median$1,800$2,038Benchmark unavailableNot reported for this year$591

Utilities marks a municipality whose revenue and spending include city-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit), which raises its per-resident totals.

Sources

Book a walkthrough