Orivian

Rockvale · FY2021 municipal finance benchmarks

Fremont County · Southern Colorado · statutory town · Pop. 530 (2025 estimate); FY2021 per-resident figures use 528 · Census finance data FY2016, FY2021

Latest Census Bureau finance data for Rockvale: FY2021. Retrieved Oct 2026. Newer years are added when the Census Bureau publishes them. Why the lag?

FY2021 in brief

Rockvale collected $1,222 per resident (including city-run utilities), 51% below the median of the 227 Colorado municipalities reporting that year, 34% below its peers. Debt per resident runs 75% below the state median.

  • Tax revenue per resident withheld: Tax revenue per resident is 16% of the peer median

Generated from the figures below. Every number links to its Census source.

Compared with

Nearest on population, household income and region

FY2021 headline figures

Revenue per resident (definition)

$1,222
34% below peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$1,838
CO median · 227 with a published figure
$2,476
Position
Higher than 13% of the 227 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Expenditures per resident (definition)

$926
43% below peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$1,637
CO median · 220 with a published figure
$2,208
Position
Higher than 7% of the 220 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Tax revenue per resident (definition)

Peer median
Benchmark unavailable
CO median · 201 with a published figure
$1,072
Position
Not reported for this year
5-year changenominal dollars
Withheld with this year's value

Debt per resident (definition)

$360
75% below CO median
Peer median
Benchmark unavailable
CO median · 199 with a published figure
$1,411
Position
Higher than 16% of the 199 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
−40.6%/yr

Where the money comes from and where it goes

Per resident, FY2021. Bars show Rockvale; the gold tick is the peer median. How categories work

The biggest difference from peers is Transportation: $244 per resident, 80% above the peer median. On the revenue side, utility & transit charges is 4.9× peers.

Money in

Revenue

$1,222
per resident34% below peers
Money in: Rockvale revenue per resident by category, FY2021, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$9024.9×peers $182
$8152% belowpeers $170
$7263% belowpeers $195
None reported · peers $22$0None reported
None reported$0None reported
Withheld
Withheld
Peer median of 4 peers · Colorado median of 227 reporting

Money out

Spending

$926
per resident43% below peers
Money out: Rockvale spending per resident by category, FY2021, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$4249% abovepeers $390
$24480% abovepeers $136
$23580% abovepeers $130
$15No peer comparisonpeers $0
$883% belowpeers $44
None reported · peers $63$0None reported
Peer median of 4 peers · Colorado median of 220 reporting

Rockvale and its peers

The five Colorado municipalities nearest on population, median household income and region. Budget size isn’t a matching factor, so peers aren’t chosen on the figures being compared. Per resident, FY2021. How peers are chosen

Open in Compare
Rockvale compared with its peer municipalities, FY2021, per resident
MunicipalityRevenueExpendituresTax revenueSales taxDebt
RockvaleUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 73.8% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,222$926Not reported for this year$360
Westcliffe$2,311$2,166Not reported for this year
WilliamsburgUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 51.0% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$723$523$876
NunnUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 14.7% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$2,471Not reported for this year$1,041Not reported for this year
Green Mountain Falls$1,366$1,108$1,086$422Not reported for this year
Peer median$1,838$1,637Benchmark unavailableNot reported for this yearBenchmark unavailable

Utilities marks a municipality whose revenue and spending include city-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit), which raises its per-resident totals.

Sources

Book a walkthrough