Orivian

Rocky Ford · FY2021 municipal finance benchmarks

Otero County · Eastern Plains · statutory city · Pop. 3,752 (2025 estimate); FY2021 per-resident figures use 3,841 · Census finance data FY2016, FY2018, FY2019, FY2020, FY2021, FY2022

You’re viewing FY2021. See the latest view (FY2022). Latest Census Bureau finance data for Rocky Ford: FY2022. Retrieved Oct 2026. Newer years are added when the Census Bureau publishes them. Why the lag?

FY2021 in brief

Rocky Ford collected $1,354 per resident (including city-run utilities), 45% below the median of the 227 Colorado municipalities reporting that year, 56% below its peers. Tax revenue per resident sits 39% below its peers, and 52% below the state median. Debt per resident runs 2.5× peers.

Generated from the figures below. Every number links to its Census source.

Compared with

Nearest on population, household income and region

FY2021 headline figures

Revenue per resident (definition)

$1,354
56% below peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$3,090
CO median · 227 with a published figure
$2,476
Position
Higher than 17% of the 227 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Expenditures per resident (definition)

$1,928
31% below peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$2,781
CO median · 220 with a published figure
$2,208
Position
Higher than 42% of the 220 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Tax revenue per resident (definition)

$515
39% below peers
Peer median
$844
CO median · 201 with a published figure
$1,072
Position
Higher than 18% of the 201 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Debt per resident (definition)

$3,549
2.5× peers
Peer median
$1,408
CO median · 199 with a published figure
$1,411
Position
Higher than 81% of the 199 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
+4.2%/yr

Where the money comes from and where it goes

Per resident, FY2021. Bars show Rocky Ford; the gold tick is the peer median. How categories work

The biggest difference from peers is Utilities & environment: $680 per resident, 46% below the peer median. On the revenue side, utility & transit charges is 76% below peers.

Money in

Revenue

$1,354
per resident56% below peers
Money in: Rocky Ford revenue per resident by category, FY2021, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$50511% belowpeers $568
$35244% belowpeers $632
$30976% belowpeers $1,263
$8832% abovepeers $67
$7556% belowpeers $169
$2184% belowpeers $136
$499% belowpeers $320
Peer median of 5 peers · Colorado median of 227 reporting

Money out

Spending

$1,928
per resident31% below peers
Money out: Rocky Ford spending per resident by category, FY2021, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$68046% belowpeers $1,251
$45753% abovepeers $299
$259in line withpeers $273
$22513% belowpeers $260
$1424.5×peers $32
$8652% belowpeers $178
$79No peer comparisonpeers $0
Peer median of 5 peers · Colorado median of 220 reporting

Rocky Ford and its peers

The five Colorado municipalities nearest on population, median household income and region. Budget size isn’t a matching factor, so peers aren’t chosen on the figures being compared. Per resident, FY2021. How peers are chosen

Open in Compare
Rocky Ford compared with its peer municipalities, FY2021, per resident
MunicipalityRevenueExpendituresTax revenueSales taxDebt
Rocky FordUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 22.8% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,354$1,928$515$352$3,549
YumaUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 35.7% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$3,090$2,781$913$647Not reported for this year
BurlingtonUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 53.9% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$3,957$3,489$750$524$1,564
Las AnimasUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 53.3% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$3,867$3,225$844$658$1,408
BrushUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 15.5% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$2,212$1,847$879$632$986
HolyokeUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 48.0% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$2,631$2,200$492$284Not reported for this year
Peer median$3,090$2,781$844$632$1,408

Utilities marks a municipality whose revenue and spending include city-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit), which raises its per-resident totals.

Sources

Book a walkthrough