Orivian

Bethune · FY2021 municipal finance benchmarks

Kit Carson County · Eastern Plains · statutory town · Pop. 190 (2025 estimate); FY2021 per-resident figures use 179 · Census finance data FY2016, FY2021

Latest Census Bureau finance data for Bethune: FY2021. Retrieved Oct 2026. Newer years are added when the Census Bureau publishes them. Why the lag?

FY2021 in brief

Bethune collected $1,168 per resident (including city-run utilities), 53% below the median of the 227 Colorado municipalities reporting that year, 29% below its peers. Debt per resident runs 10% below peers.

  • Tax revenue per resident withheld: Tax revenue per resident is 16% of the peer median

Generated from the figures below. Every number links to its Census source.

Compared with

Nearest on population, household income and region

FY2021 headline figures

Revenue per resident (definition)

$1,168
29% below peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$1,635
CO median · 227 with a published figure
$2,476
Position
Higher than 11% of the 227 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Expenditures per resident (definition)

Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
Benchmark unavailable
CO median · 220 with a published figure
$2,208
Position
Not reported for this year
5-year changenominal dollars
Withheld with this year's value

Tax revenue per resident (definition)

Peer median
Benchmark unavailable
CO median · 201 with a published figure
$1,072
Position
Not reported for this year
5-year changenominal dollars
Withheld with this year's value

Debt per resident (definition)

$1,011
10% below peers
Peer median
$1,118
CO median · 199 with a published figure
$1,411
Position
Higher than 40% of the 199 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
−5.9%/yr

Where the money comes from and where it goes

Per resident, FY2021. Bars show Bethune; the gold tick is the peer median. How categories work

On the revenue side, the biggest difference from peers is Intergovernmental: $732 per resident, 4.9× the peer median.

Money in

Revenue

$1,168
per resident29% below peers
Money in: Bethune revenue per resident by category, FY2021, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$7324.9×peers $149
$29628% belowpeers $412
$10174% belowpeers $380
None reported · peers $56$0None reported
Withheldpeers $103
Withheldpeers $64
Peer median of 4 peers · Colorado median of 227 reporting

Money out

Spending

Categories are withheld with the total until it is verified against Bethune’s audited financial report.

Peer median of 5 peers · Colorado median of 220 reporting

Bethune and its peers

The five Colorado municipalities nearest on population, median household income and region. Budget size isn’t a matching factor, so peers aren’t chosen on the figures being compared. Per resident, FY2021. How peers are chosen

Open in Compare
Bethune compared with its peer municipalities, FY2021, per resident
MunicipalityRevenueExpendituresTax revenueSales taxDebt
BethuneUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 25.4% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,168Not reported for this year$1,011
SeibertUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 22.3% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$2,087$1,808$622$372
GenoaUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 37.0% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,109$1,244$244Not reported for this yearNot reported for this year
ArribaUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 35.0% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,182$1,291$177Not reported for this year$1,493
CrowleyUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 13.1% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$2,374$1,854$53Not reported for this yearNot reported for this year
Peer median$1,635Benchmark unavailableBenchmark unavailableNot reported for this year$1,118

Utilities marks a municipality whose revenue and spending include city-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit), which raises its per-resident totals.

Sources

Book a walkthrough