Orivian

Cokedale · FY2016 municipal finance benchmarks

Las Animas County · Southern Colorado · statutory town · Pop. 123 (2025 estimate); FY2016 per-resident figures use 116 · Census finance data FY2016, FY2021

Latest Census Bureau finance data for Cokedale: FY2021. Retrieved Oct 2026. Newer years are added when the Census Bureau publishes them. Why the lag?

FY2016 in brief

Cokedale collected $1,345 per resident, 23% below the median of the 224 Colorado municipalities reporting that year, 41% above its peers. Debt per resident runs 16.1× peers.

  • Tax revenue per resident withheld: Tax revenue per resident is 4.1x the peer median

Generated from the figures below. Every number links to its Census source.

Compared with

Nearest on population, household income and region

FY2016 headline figures

Revenue per resident (definition)

$1,345
41% above peers
Peer median
$953
CO median · 224 with a published figure
$1,746
Position
Higher than 39% of the 224 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Expenditures per resident (definition)

$767
90% above peers
Peer median
$403
CO median · 196 with a published figure
$1,749
Position
Higher than 14% of the 196 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Tax revenue per resident (definition)

Peer median
Benchmark unavailable
CO median · 193 with a published figure
$705
Position
Not reported for this year
5-year changenominal dollars
Withheld with this year's value

Debt per resident (definition)

$5,293
16.1× peers
Peer median
$330
CO median · 220 with a published figure
$1,072
Position
Higher than 94% of the 220 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Where the money comes from and where it goes

Per resident, FY2016. Bars show Cokedale; the gold tick is the peer median. How categories work

The biggest difference from peers is General government: $267 per resident, 69% above the peer median. On the revenue side, intergovernmental is 6.6× peers.

Money in

Revenue

$1,345
per resident41% above peers
Money in: Cokedale revenue per resident by category, FY2016, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$6296.6×peers $95
$26742% belowpeers $461
None reported · peers $224$0None reported
None reported · peers $56$0None reported
None reported · peers $13$0None reported
Withheldpeers $69
Peer median of 5 peers · Colorado median of 224 reporting

Money out

Spending

$767
per resident90% above peers
Money out: Cokedale spending per resident by category, FY2016, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$26721% abovepeers $222
$26769% abovepeers $158
$1036.4×peers $16
$784.8×peers $16
$436.9×peers $6
$97% abovepeers $8
Peer median of 3 peers · Colorado median of 196 reporting

Cokedale and its peers

The five Colorado municipalities nearest on population, median household income and region. Budget size isn’t a matching factor, so peers aren’t chosen on the figures being compared. Per resident, FY2016. How peers are chosen

Open in Compare
Cokedale compared with its peer municipalities, FY2016, per resident
MunicipalityRevenueExpendituresTax revenueSales taxDebt
Cokedale$1,345$767Not reported for this year$5,293
RamahUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 23.0% of total revenue in FY2016. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$953$109Not reported for this year$180
WardUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 36.8% of total revenue in FY2016. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$481$329$146$82Not reported for this year
GroverUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 25.6% of total revenue in FY2016. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$975$1,119$63Not reported for this year$1,719
BransonUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 23.1% of total revenue in FY2016. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$970$104Not reported for this year$179
BrooksideUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 48.3% of total revenue in FY2016. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$702$403$125Not reported for this year$480
Peer median$953$403Benchmark unavailableNot reported for this year$330

Utilities marks a municipality whose revenue and spending include city-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit), which raises its per-resident totals.

Sources

Book a walkthrough