Orivian

Starkville · FY2016 municipal finance benchmarks

Las Animas County · Southern Colorado · statutory town · Pop. 66 (2025 estimate); FY2016 per-resident figures use 52 · Census finance data FY2016, FY2021

Latest Census Bureau finance data for Starkville: FY2021. Retrieved Oct 2026. Newer years are added when the Census Bureau publishes them. Why the lag?

FY2016 in brief

Starkville collected $923 per resident (including city-run utilities), 47% below the median of the 224 Colorado municipalities reporting that year, in line with its peers. Tax revenue per resident sits 47% above its peers, but 78% below the state median. Debt per resident runs 13.6× peers.

Generated from the figures below. Every number links to its Census source.

Compared with

Nearest on population, household income and region

FY2016 headline figures

Revenue per resident (definition)

$923
in line with peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$953
CO median · 224 with a published figure
$1,746
Position
Higher than 14% of the 224 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Expenditures per resident (definition)

$365
79% below CO median
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
Benchmark unavailable
CO median · 196 with a published figure
$1,749
Position
Higher than 5% of the 196 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Tax revenue per resident (definition)

$154
47% above peers
Peer median
$104
CO median · 193 with a published figure
$705
Position
Higher than 13% of the 193 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Debt per resident (definition)

$2,442
13.6× peers
Peer median
$180
CO median · 220 with a published figure
$1,072
Position
Higher than 74% of the 220 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Where the money comes from and where it goes

Per resident, FY2016. Bars show Starkville; the gold tick is the peer median. How categories work

On the revenue side, the biggest difference from peers is Utility & transit charges: $712 per resident, 3.2× the peer median.

Money in

Revenue

$923
per residentin line with peers
Money in: Starkville revenue per resident by category, FY2016, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$7123.2×peers $224
$13532% abovepeers $102
$58No peer comparisonpeers $0
$19No peer comparisonpeers $0
None reported · peers $450$0None reported
None reported · peers $164$0None reported
Peer median of 5 peers · Colorado median of 224 reporting

Money out

Spending

$365
per resident
Money out: Starkville spending per resident by category, FY2016, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
Peer median unavailable$250No peer comparison
Peer median unavailable$96No peer comparison
Peer median unavailable$19No peer comparison
None reported$0None reported
None reported$0None reported
None reported$0None reported
Peer median of 2 peers · Colorado median of 196 reporting

Starkville and its peers

The five Colorado municipalities nearest on population, median household income and region. Budget size isn’t a matching factor, so peers aren’t chosen on the figures being compared. Per resident, FY2016. How peers are chosen

Open in Compare
Starkville compared with its peer municipalities, FY2016, per resident
MunicipalityRevenueExpendituresTax revenueSales taxDebt
StarkvilleUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 77.1% of total revenue in FY2016. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$923$365$154Not reported for this year$2,442
KimUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 54.5% of total revenue in FY2016. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$657$657$104Not reported for this year$1,299
BransonUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 23.1% of total revenue in FY2016. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$970$104Not reported for this year$179
Cokedale$1,345$767Not reported for this year$5,293
RamahUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 23.0% of total revenue in FY2016. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$953$109Not reported for this year$180
Two ButtesUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 23.7% of total revenue in FY2016. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$950$100Not reported for this year$175
Peer median$953Benchmark unavailable$104Not reported for this year$180

Utilities marks a municipality whose revenue and spending include city-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit), which raises its per-resident totals.

Sources

Book a walkthrough