Orivian

Cripple Creek · FY2023 municipal finance benchmarks

Teller County · Pikes Peak · statutory city · Pop. 1,120 (2025 estimate); FY2023 per-resident figures use 1,118 · Census finance data FY2016, FY2021, FY2023

Latest Census Bureau finance data for Cripple Creek: FY2023. Retrieved Oct 2026. Newer years are added when the Census Bureau publishes them. Why the lag?

FY2023 in brief

Cripple Creek collected $12,052 per resident (including city-run utilities), 3.4× the median of the 97 Colorado municipalities reporting that year, 3.8× its peers. Debt per resident runs 42% below peers.

  • Tax revenue per resident withheld: Tax revenue per resident is 6.5x the peer median

Generated from the figures below. Every number links to its Census source.

Compared with

Nearest on population, household income and region

FY2023 headline figures

Revenue per resident (definition)

$12,052
3.8× peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$3,155
CO median · 97 with a published figure
$3,580
Position
Higher than 90% of the 97 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Expenditures per resident (definition)

$6,184
93% above peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$3,197
CO median · 91 with a published figure
$3,680
Position
Higher than 78% of the 91 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Tax revenue per resident (definition)

Peer median
Benchmark unavailable
CO median · 90 with a published figure
$1,726
Position
Not reported for this year
5-year changenominal dollars
Withheld with this year's value

Debt per resident (definition)

$1,351
42% below peers
Peer median
$2,333
CO median · 91 with a published figure
$2,130
Position
Higher than 29% of the 91 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Where the money comes from and where it goes

Per resident, FY2023. Bars show Cripple Creek; the gold tick is the peer median. How categories work

The biggest difference from peers is Public safety: $2,386 per resident, 7.9× the peer median. On the revenue side, other revenue is 4.5× peers.

Money in

Revenue

$12,052
per resident3.8× peers
Money in: Cripple Creek revenue per resident by category, FY2023, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$1,4154.5×peers $317
$1,01524% belowpeers $1,329
$7614.1×peers $188
$3956% abovepeers $373
Withheldpeers $885
Withheldpeers $372
Withheldpeers $110
Peer median of 5 peers · Colorado median of 97 reporting

Money out

Spending

$6,184
per resident93% above peers
Money out: Cripple Creek spending per resident by category, FY2023, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$2,3867.9×peers $303
$1,64851% abovepeers $1,089
$1,1508.0×peers $144
$45161% belowpeers $1,160
$4014.9×peers $82
$118No peer comparisonpeers $0
$3071% belowpeers $105
None reported · peers $0$0None reported
Peer median of 4 peers · Colorado median of 91 reporting

Cripple Creek and its peers

The five Colorado municipalities nearest on population, median household income and region. Budget size isn’t a matching factor, so peers aren’t chosen on the figures being compared. Per resident, FY2023. How peers are chosen

Open in Compare
Cripple Creek compared with its peer municipalities, FY2023, per resident
MunicipalityRevenueExpendituresTax revenueSales taxDebt
Cripple CreekUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 8.4% of total revenue in FY2023. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$12,052$6,184$1,471$1,351
WalsenburgUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 17.4% of total revenue in FY2023. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$8,205$7,823$3,309$885$7,163
La SalleUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 11.8% of total revenue in FY2023. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$3,155$1,850$1,300Not reported for this year
DoloresUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 14.6% of total revenue in FY2023. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$2,484$940$245
LyonsUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 45.6% of total revenue in FY2023. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$5,905$4,544$1,464$905$1,607
FlorenceUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 58.7% of total revenue in FY2023. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$2,262$1,535$783$491$3,058
Peer median$3,155$3,197Benchmark unavailable$895$2,333

Utilities marks a municipality whose revenue and spending include city-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit), which raises its per-resident totals.

Sources

Book a walkthrough