Orivian

Calhan · FY2021 municipal finance benchmarks

El Paso County · Pikes Peak · statutory town · Pop. 727 (2025 estimate); FY2021 per-resident figures use 762 · Census finance data FY2016, FY2021

Latest Census Bureau finance data for Calhan: FY2021. Retrieved Oct 2026. Newer years are added when the Census Bureau publishes them. Why the lag?

FY2021 in brief

Calhan collected $1,748 per resident (including city-run utilities), 29% below the median of the 227 Colorado municipalities reporting that year, 28% above its peers. Tax revenue per resident sits in line with its peers, but 22% below the state median. Debt per resident runs 87% below peers.

Generated from the figures below. Every number links to its Census source.

Compared with

Nearest on population, household income and region

FY2021 headline figures

Revenue per resident (definition)

$1,748
28% above peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$1,366
CO median · 227 with a published figure
$2,476
Position
Higher than 29% of the 227 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
+6.5%/yr

Expenditures per resident (definition)

$1,398
33% above peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$1,053
CO median · 220 with a published figure
$2,208
Position
Higher than 23% of the 220 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
+3.2%/yr

Tax revenue per resident (definition)

$840
in line with peers
Peer median
$858
CO median · 201 with a published figure
$1,072
Position
Higher than 34% of the 201 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
+15.7%/yr

Debt per resident (definition)

$117
87% below peers
Peer median
$876
CO median · 199 with a published figure
$1,411
Position
Higher than 4% of the 199 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
−21.4%/yr

Where the money comes from and where it goes

Per resident, FY2021. Bars show Calhan; the gold tick is the peer median. How categories work

The biggest difference from peers is General government: $142 per resident, 78% below the peer median. On the revenue side, fees & charges is 2.2× peers.

Money in

Revenue

$1,748
per resident28% above peers
Money in: Calhan revenue per resident by category, FY2021, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$68627% abovepeers $541
$386in line withpeers $369
$2762.2×peers $125
$17823% abovepeers $145
$1483.0×peers $50
$6849% belowpeers $134
$597% belowpeers $154
Peer median of 5 peers · Colorado median of 227 reporting

Money out

Spending

$1,398
per resident33% above peers
Money out: Calhan spending per resident by category, FY2021, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$5243.8×peers $138
$14278% belowpeers $637
$1276% belowpeers $136
$1784% belowpeers $103
$762% belowpeers $17
$3No peer comparisonpeers $0
$1No peer comparisonpeers $0
Withheld
Peer median of 4 peers · Colorado median of 220 reporting

Calhan and its peers

The five Colorado municipalities nearest on population, median household income and region. Budget size isn’t a matching factor, so peers aren’t chosen on the figures being compared. Per resident, FY2021. How peers are chosen

Open in Compare
Calhan compared with its peer municipalities, FY2021, per resident
MunicipalityRevenueExpendituresTax revenueSales taxDebt
CalhanUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 22.1% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,748$1,398$840$686$117
WilliamsburgUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 51.0% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$723$523$876
La VetaUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 24.7% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,913$858$699Not reported for this year
Green Mountain Falls$1,366$1,108$1,086$422Not reported for this year
Cripple CreekUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 9.3% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$10,350$7,932$803$965
Silver Cliff$1,037$998$744$541$213
Peer median$1,366$1,053$858$620$876

Utilities marks a municipality whose revenue and spending include city-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit), which raises its per-resident totals.

Sources

Book a walkthrough