Orivian

Flagler · FY2021 municipal finance benchmarks

Kit Carson County · Eastern Plains · statutory town · Pop. 584 (2025 estimate); FY2021 per-resident figures use 563 · Census finance data FY2016, FY2021

Latest Census Bureau finance data for Flagler: FY2021. Retrieved Oct 2026. Newer years are added when the Census Bureau publishes them. Why the lag?

FY2021 in brief

Flagler collected $1,998 per resident (including city-run utilities), 19% below the median of the 227 Colorado municipalities reporting that year, 28% above its peers. Tax revenue per resident sits 56% above its peers, but 25% below the state median. Debt per resident runs 91% below peers.

Generated from the figures below. Every number links to its Census source.

Compared with

Nearest on population, household income and region

FY2021 headline figures

Revenue per resident (definition)

$1,998
28% above peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$1,566
CO median · 227 with a published figure
$2,476
Position
Higher than 35% of the 227 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Expenditures per resident (definition)

$1,927
13% below CO median
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
Benchmark unavailable
CO median · 220 with a published figure
$2,208
Position
Higher than 42% of the 220 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
−2.2%/yr

Tax revenue per resident (definition)

$806
56% above peers
Peer median
$516
CO median · 201 with a published figure
$1,072
Position
Higher than 32% of the 201 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Debt per resident (definition)

$121
91% below peers
Peer median
$1,411
CO median · 199 with a published figure
$1,411
Position
Higher than 5% of the 199 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
−20.3%/yr

Where the money comes from and where it goes

Per resident, FY2021. Bars show Flagler; the gold tick is the peer median. How categories work

On the revenue side, the biggest difference from peers is Sales tax: $522 per resident, 95% above the peer median.

Money in

Revenue

$1,998
per resident28% above peers
Money in: Flagler revenue per resident by category, FY2021, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$52295% abovepeers $267
$47266% abovepeers $285
$451in line withpeers $472
$28499% abovepeers $143
$2332.0×peers $114
$3635% belowpeers $55
Peer median of 5 peers · Colorado median of 227 reporting

Money out

Spending

$1,927
per resident
Money out: Flagler spending per resident by category, FY2021, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
Peer median unavailable$1,110No peer comparison
Peer median unavailable$686No peer comparison
Peer median unavailable$124No peer comparison
Peer median unavailable$7No peer comparison
None reported$0None reported
None reported$0None reported
Peer median of 2 peers · Colorado median of 220 reporting

Flagler and its peers

The five Colorado municipalities nearest on population, median household income and region. Budget size isn’t a matching factor, so peers aren’t chosen on the figures being compared. Per resident, FY2021. How peers are chosen

Open in Compare
Flagler compared with its peer municipalities, FY2021, per resident
MunicipalityRevenueExpendituresTax revenueSales taxDebt
FlaglerUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 22.6% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,998$1,927$806$522$121
WalshUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 28.0% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,685$1,450$423$1,411
SimlaUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 23.3% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$538Not reported for this year
OtisUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 78.3% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$771$167$69Not reported for this year
StrattonUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 31.7% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,566$516$267$1,777
EadsUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 25.8% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,635$1,503$591$341$1,206
Peer median$1,566Benchmark unavailable$516$304$1,411

Utilities marks a municipality whose revenue and spending include city-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit), which raises its per-resident totals.

Sources

Book a walkthrough