Orivian

Walsh · FY2021 municipal finance benchmarks

Baca County · Eastern Plains · statutory town · Pop. 513 (2025 estimate); FY2021 per-resident figures use 542 · Census finance data FY2016, FY2021

Latest Census Bureau finance data for Walsh: FY2021. Retrieved Oct 2026. Newer years are added when the Census Bureau publishes them. Why the lag?

FY2021 in brief

Walsh collected $1,685 per resident (including city-run utilities), 32% below the median of the 227 Colorado municipalities reporting that year, 44% above its peers.

  • Tax revenue per resident withheld: Tax revenue per resident is 3.2x the peer median

Generated from the figures below. Every number links to its Census source.

Compared with

Nearest on population, household income and region

FY2021 headline figures

Revenue per resident (definition)

$1,685
44% above peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$1,169
CO median · 227 with a published figure
$2,476
Position
Higher than 27% of the 227 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
+3.6%/yr

Expenditures per resident (definition)

$1,450
34% below CO median
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
Benchmark unavailable
CO median · 220 with a published figure
$2,208
Position
Higher than 27% of the 220 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
+7.3%/yr

Tax revenue per resident (definition)

Peer median
Benchmark unavailable
CO median · 201 with a published figure
$1,072
Position
Not reported for this year
5-year changenominal dollars
Withheld with this year's value

Debt per resident (definition)

$1,411
in line with CO median
Peer median
Benchmark unavailable
CO median · 199 with a published figure
$1,411
Position
Higher than 51% of the 199 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
−2.5%/yr

Where the money comes from and where it goes

Per resident, FY2021. Bars show Walsh; the gold tick is the peer median. How categories work

On the revenue side, the biggest difference from peers is Other revenue: $164 per resident, 3.9× the peer median.

Money in

Revenue

$1,685
per resident44% above peers
Money in: Walsh revenue per resident by category, FY2021, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$472in line withpeers $474
$31930% abovepeers $246
$1643.9×peers $42
$114in line withpeers $119
Withheldpeers $267
Withheldpeers $143
Peer median of 4 peers · Colorado median of 227 reporting

Money out

Spending

$1,450
per resident
Money out: Walsh spending per resident by category, FY2021, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
Peer median unavailable$1,031No peer comparison
Peer median unavailable$249No peer comparison
Peer median unavailable$83No peer comparison
Peer median unavailable$44No peer comparison
Peer median unavailable$42No peer comparison
Peer median of 1 peers · Colorado median of 220 reporting

Walsh and its peers

The five Colorado municipalities nearest on population, median household income and region. Budget size isn’t a matching factor, so peers aren’t chosen on the figures being compared. Per resident, FY2021. How peers are chosen

Open in Compare
Walsh compared with its peer municipalities, FY2021, per resident
MunicipalityRevenueExpendituresTax revenueSales taxDebt
WalshUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 28.0% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,685$1,450$423$1,411
FlaglerUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 22.6% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,998$1,927$806$522$121
SimlaUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 23.3% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$538Not reported for this year
OtisUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 78.3% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$771$167$69Not reported for this year
StrattonUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 31.7% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,566$516$267$1,777
Peer median$1,169Benchmark unavailableBenchmark unavailable$187Benchmark unavailable

Utilities marks a municipality whose revenue and spending include city-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit), which raises its per-resident totals.

Sources

Book a walkthrough