Orivian

Jamestown · FY2016 municipal finance benchmarks

Boulder County · Denver Metro · statutory town · Pop. 245 (2025 estimate); FY2016 per-resident figures use 259 · Census finance data FY2016, FY2021

Latest Census Bureau finance data for Jamestown: FY2021. Retrieved Oct 2026. Newer years are added when the Census Bureau publishes them. Why the lag?

FY2016 in brief

Jamestown collected $718 per resident (including city-run utilities), 59% below the median of the 224 Colorado municipalities reporting that year, in line with its peers. Tax revenue per resident sits 34% above its peers, but 74% below the state median. Debt per resident runs 82% below the state median.

Generated from the figures below. Every number links to its Census source.

Compared with

Nearest on population, household income and region

FY2016 headline figures

Revenue per resident (definition)

$718
in line with peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$718
CO median · 224 with a published figure
$1,746
Position
Higher than 9% of the 224 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Expenditures per resident (definition)

$664
31% above peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$507
CO median · 196 with a published figure
$1,749
Position
Higher than 11% of the 196 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Tax revenue per resident (definition)

$181
34% above peers
Peer median
$135
CO median · 193 with a published figure
$705
Position
Higher than 14% of the 193 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Debt per resident (definition)

$189
82% below CO median
Peer median
Benchmark unavailable
CO median · 220 with a published figure
$1,072
Position
Higher than 19% of the 220 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Where the money comes from and where it goes

Per resident, FY2016. Bars show Jamestown; the gold tick is the peer median. How categories work

The biggest difference from peers is Utilities & environment: $58 per resident, 75% below the peer median. On the revenue side, intergovernmental is 4.1× peers.

Money in

Revenue

$718
per residentin line with peers
Money in: Jamestown revenue per resident by category, FY2016, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$3444.1×peers $84
$1812.7×peers $66
$16656% belowpeers $374
$2714% belowpeers $31
None reported · peers $45$0None reported
None reported · peers $41$0None reported
None reported · peers $6$0None reported
Peer median of 4 peers · Colorado median of 224 reporting

Money out

Spending

$664
per resident31% above peers
Money out: Jamestown spending per resident by category, FY2016, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$263No peer comparisonpeers $0
$18113% abovepeers $160
$13934.5×peers $4
$5875% belowpeers $232
$1215% abovepeers $10
$1221% abovepeers $10
Peer median of 4 peers · Colorado median of 196 reporting

Jamestown and its peers

The five Colorado municipalities nearest on population, median household income and region. Budget size isn’t a matching factor, so peers aren’t chosen on the figures being compared. Per resident, FY2016. How peers are chosen

Open in Compare
Jamestown compared with its peer municipalities, FY2016, per resident
MunicipalityRevenueExpendituresTax revenueSales taxDebt
JamestownUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 23.1% of total revenue in FY2016. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$718$664$181Not reported for this year$189
BrooksideUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 48.3% of total revenue in FY2016. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$702$403$125Not reported for this year$480
RyeUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 54.7% of total revenue in FY2016. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$769$611$101Not reported for this yearNot reported for this year
WardUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 36.8% of total revenue in FY2016. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$481$329$146$82Not reported for this year
Coal CreekUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 55.8% of total revenue in FY2016. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$735$788$227$106Not reported for this year
Peer median$718$507$135Not reported for this yearBenchmark unavailable

Utilities marks a municipality whose revenue and spending include city-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit), which raises its per-resident totals.

Sources

Book a walkthrough