Orivian

Ovid · FY2021 municipal finance benchmarks

Sedgwick County · Eastern Plains · statutory town · Pop. 256 (2025 estimate); FY2021 per-resident figures use 262 · Census finance data FY2016, FY2021

Latest Census Bureau finance data for Ovid: FY2021. Retrieved Oct 2026. Newer years are added when the Census Bureau publishes them. Why the lag?

FY2021 in brief

Ovid collected $1,447 per resident (including city-run utilities), 42% below the median of the 227 Colorado municipalities reporting that year, 22% above its peers. Tax revenue per resident sits 98% above its peers, but 73% below the state median. Debt per resident runs 91% below the state median.

Generated from the figures below. Every number links to its Census source.

Compared with

Nearest on population, household income and region

FY2021 headline figures

Revenue per resident (definition)

$1,447
22% above peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$1,182
CO median · 227 with a published figure
$2,476
Position
Higher than 19% of the 227 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
+9.3%/yr

Expenditures per resident (definition)

$1,065
in line with peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$1,017
CO median · 220 with a published figure
$2,208
Position
Higher than 11% of the 220 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
+42.7%/yr

Tax revenue per resident (definition)

$286
98% above peers
Peer median
$144
CO median · 201 with a published figure
$1,072
Position
Higher than 12% of the 201 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
+22.1%/yr

Debt per resident (definition)

$130
91% below CO median
Peer median
Benchmark unavailable
CO median · 199 with a published figure
$1,411
Position
Higher than 5% of the 199 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
−5.7%/yr

Where the money comes from and where it goes

Per resident, FY2021. Bars show Ovid; the gold tick is the peer median. How categories work

The biggest difference from peers is General government: $668 per resident, 5.2× the peer median. On the revenue side, other revenue is 4.8× peers.

Money in

Revenue

$1,447
per resident22% above peers
Money in: Ovid revenue per resident by category, FY2021, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$43938% abovepeers $318
$3287% belowpeers $352
$2144.8×peers $45
$1872.4×peers $78
$17966% abovepeers $108
$99No peer comparisonpeers $0
None reported · peers $39$0None reported
Peer median of 5 peers · Colorado median of 227 reporting

Money out

Spending

$1,065
per residentin line with peers
Money out: Ovid spending per resident by category, FY2021, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$6685.2×peers $129
$32847% belowpeers $621
$3112.4×peers $2
$1153% belowpeers $24
$11No peer comparisonpeers $0
$8No peer comparisonpeers $0
$496% belowpeers $97
$42.6×peers $1
Peer median of 4 peers · Colorado median of 220 reporting

Ovid and its peers

The five Colorado municipalities nearest on population, median household income and region. Budget size isn’t a matching factor, so peers aren’t chosen on the figures being compared. Per resident, FY2021. How peers are chosen

Open in Compare
Ovid compared with its peer municipalities, FY2021, per resident
MunicipalityRevenueExpendituresTax revenueSales taxDebt
OvidUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 22.7% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,447$1,065$286$99$130
ArribaUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 35.0% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,182$1,291$177Not reported for this year$1,493
IliffUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 36.1% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$837$78Not reported for this yearNot reported for this year
ManzanolaUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 13.3% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$2,639$743$198$41$107
Kit CarsonUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 52.0% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,091$461$217Not reported for this year
CherawUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 9.7% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,687$1,687$112Not reported for this yearNot reported for this year
Peer median$1,182$1,017$144Benchmark unavailableBenchmark unavailable

Utilities marks a municipality whose revenue and spending include city-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit), which raises its per-resident totals.

Sources

Book a walkthrough