Orivian

Olney Springs · FY2023 municipal finance benchmarks

Crowley County · Eastern Plains · statutory town · Pop. 288 (2025 estimate); FY2023 per-resident figures use 297 · Census finance data FY2016, FY2018, FY2019, FY2020, FY2021, FY2022, FY2023

Latest Census Bureau finance data for Olney Springs: FY2023. Retrieved Oct 2026. Newer years are added when the Census Bureau publishes them. Why the lag?

FY2023 in brief

Olney Springs collected $919 per resident (including city-run utilities), 74% below the median of the 97 Colorado municipalities reporting that year. Debt per resident runs 28% below peers.

  • Tax revenue per resident withheld: Tax revenue per resident is 7% of the peer median

Generated from the figures below. Every number links to its Census source.

Compared with

Nearest on population, household income and region

FY2023 headline figures

Revenue per resident (definition)

$919
76% below peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$3,802
CO median · 97 with a published figure
$3,580
Position
Higher than 1% of the 97 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
+15.7%/yr

Expenditures per resident (definition)

$1,121
78% below peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$5,169
CO median · 91 with a published figure
$3,680
Position
Lowest of the 91 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
+17.7%/yr

Tax revenue per resident (definition)

Peer median
Benchmark unavailable
CO median · 90 with a published figure
$1,726
Position
Not reported for this year
5-year changenominal dollars
Withheld with this year's value

Debt per resident (definition)

$2,694
28% below peers
Peer median
$3,726
CO median · 91 with a published figure
$2,130
Position
Higher than 60% of the 91 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Where the money comes from and where it goes

Per resident, FY2023. Bars show Olney Springs; the gold tick is the peer median. How categories work

The biggest difference from peers is Utilities & environment: $710 per resident, 70% below the peer median. On the revenue side, Olney Springs reports no sales tax; peers collect $950 per resident.

Money in

Revenue

$919
per resident76% below peers
Money in: Olney Springs revenue per resident by category, FY2023, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$37715% belowpeers $441
$35023% belowpeers $454
$9827% belowpeers $134
$2790% belowpeers $264
None reported · peers $950$0None reported
Withheldpeers $184
Withheldpeers $101
Peer median of 5 peers · Colorado median of 97 reporting

Money out

Spending

$1,121
per resident78% below peers
Money out: Olney Springs spending per resident by category, FY2023, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$71070% belowpeers $2,368
$22942% belowpeers $394
$10443% belowpeers $185
$7181% belowpeers $374
$798% belowpeers $318
None reported · peers $119$0None reported
Peer median of 4 peers · Colorado median of 91 reporting

Olney Springs and its peers

The five Colorado municipalities nearest on population, median household income and region. Budget size isn’t a matching factor, so peers aren’t chosen on the figures being compared. Per resident, FY2023. How peers are chosen

Open in Compare
Olney Springs compared with its peer municipalities, FY2023, per resident
MunicipalityRevenueExpendituresTax revenueSales taxDebt
Olney SpringsUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 38.1% of total revenue in FY2023. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$919$1,121Not reported for this year$2,694
EckleyUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 13.9% of total revenue in FY2023. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$2,745$6,494$463$5,762
IliffUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 33.9% of total revenue in FY2023. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$941Not reported for this year$1,693
LimonUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 11.9% of total revenue in FY2023. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$3,802$3,754$1,520$1,163$3,726
Grand LakeUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 14.5% of total revenue in FY2023. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.Regional hub: Sales tax per resident is 6.2× the Colorado median.$13,561$13,333$8,681$7,152$11,368
Las AnimasUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 56.0% of total revenue in FY2023. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$4,191$3,845$930$737$1,277
Peer median$3,802$5,169Benchmark unavailableNot reported for this year$3,726

Utilities marks a municipality whose revenue and spending include city-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit), which raises its per-resident totals.

Regional hub marks a municipality whose sales tax per resident is at least 1.5× the Colorado median: a shopping or visitor hub where people who live elsewhere pay much of the sales tax.

Sources

Book a walkthrough