Orivian

Simla · FY2021 municipal finance benchmarks

Elbert County · Eastern Plains · statutory town · Pop. 587 (2025 estimate); FY2021 per-resident figures use 615 · Census finance data FY2016, FY2021

Latest Census Bureau finance data for Simla: FY2021. Retrieved Oct 2026. Newer years are added when the Census Bureau publishes them. Why the lag?

FY2021 in brief

Simla collected $538 per resident (including city-run utilities), 78% below the median of the 227 Colorado municipalities reporting that year, 66% below its peers.

  • Tax revenue per resident withheld: Tax revenue per resident is 23% of the peer median

Generated from the figures below. Every number links to its Census source.

Compared with

Nearest on population, household income and region

FY2021 headline figures

Revenue per resident (definition)

$538
66% below peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$1,566
CO median · 227 with a published figure
$2,476
Position
Higher than 1% of the 227 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
−3.4%/yr

Expenditures per resident (definition)

Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
Benchmark unavailable
CO median · 220 with a published figure
$2,208
Position
Not reported for this year
5-year changenominal dollars
Withheld with this year's value

Tax revenue per resident (definition)

Peer median
Benchmark unavailable
CO median · 201 with a published figure
$1,072
Position
Not reported for this year
5-year changenominal dollars
Withheld with this year's value

Where the money comes from and where it goes

Per resident, FY2021. Bars show Simla; the gold tick is the peer median. How categories work

On the revenue side, the biggest difference from peers is Utility & transit charges: $125 per resident, 72% below the peer median.

Money in

Revenue

$538
per resident66% below peers
Money in: Simla revenue per resident by category, FY2021, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$20837% belowpeers $328
$12572% belowpeers $451
$6788% abovepeers $36
$1887% belowpeers $139
Withheldpeers $267
Withheldpeers $162
Withheldpeers $0
Peer median of 5 peers · Colorado median of 227 reporting

Money out

Spending

Categories are withheld with the total until it is verified against Simla’s audited financial report.

Peer median of 3 peers · Colorado median of 220 reporting

Simla and its peers

The five Colorado municipalities nearest on population, median household income and region. Budget size isn’t a matching factor, so peers aren’t chosen on the figures being compared. Per resident, FY2021. How peers are chosen

Open in Compare
Simla compared with its peer municipalities, FY2021, per resident
MunicipalityRevenueExpendituresTax revenueSales taxDebt
SimlaUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 23.3% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$538Not reported for this year
StrattonUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 31.7% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,566$516$267$1,777
EadsUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 25.8% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,635$1,503$591$341$1,206
FlaglerUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 22.6% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,998$1,927$806$522$121
SwinkUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 40.2% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,049$1,133$252Not reported for this year$515
OtisUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 78.3% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$771$167$69Not reported for this year
Peer median$1,566Benchmark unavailableBenchmark unavailableBenchmark unavailableNot reported for this year

Utilities marks a municipality whose revenue and spending include city-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit), which raises its per-resident totals.

Sources

Book a walkthrough