Orivian

Stratton · FY2021 municipal finance benchmarks

Kit Carson County · Eastern Plains · statutory town · Pop. 644 (2025 estimate); FY2021 per-resident figures use 636 · Census finance data FY2016, FY2021

Latest Census Bureau finance data for Stratton: FY2021. Retrieved Oct 2026. Newer years are added when the Census Bureau publishes them. Why the lag?

FY2021 in brief

Stratton collected $1,566 per resident (including city-run utilities), 37% below the median of the 227 Colorado municipalities reporting that year, 2.0× its peers. Tax revenue per resident sits 31% above its peers, but 52% below the state median. Debt per resident runs 26% above the state median.

Generated from the figures below. Every number links to its Census source.

Compared with

Nearest on population, household income and region

FY2021 headline figures

Revenue per resident (definition)

$1,566
2.0× peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$771
CO median · 227 with a published figure
$2,476
Position
Higher than 23% of the 227 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
+6.2%/yr

Expenditures per resident (definition)

Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
Benchmark unavailable
CO median · 220 with a published figure
$2,208
Position
Not reported for this year
5-year changenominal dollars
Withheld with this year's value

Tax revenue per resident (definition)

$516
31% above peers
Peer median
$393
CO median · 201 with a published figure
$1,072
Position
Higher than 18% of the 201 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
+3.4%/yr

Debt per resident (definition)

$1,777
26% above CO median
Peer median
Benchmark unavailable
CO median · 199 with a published figure
$1,411
Position
Higher than 58% of the 199 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Where the money comes from and where it goes

Per resident, FY2021. Bars show Stratton; the gold tick is the peer median. How categories work

On the revenue side, the biggest difference from peers is Intergovernmental: $220 per resident, 4.6× the peer median.

Money in

Revenue

$1,566
per resident2.0× peers
Money in: Stratton revenue per resident by category, FY2021, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$49718% abovepeers $421
$28537% abovepeers $208
$26750% abovepeers $178
$2204.6×peers $48
$14310% abovepeers $130
$1052.3×peers $45
$4918.1×peers $3
Peer median of 5 peers · Colorado median of 227 reporting

Money out

Spending

Categories are withheld with the total until it is verified against Stratton’s audited financial report.

Peer median of 2 peers · Colorado median of 220 reporting

Stratton and its peers

The five Colorado municipalities nearest on population, median household income and region. Budget size isn’t a matching factor, so peers aren’t chosen on the figures being compared. Per resident, FY2021. How peers are chosen

Open in Compare
Stratton compared with its peer municipalities, FY2021, per resident
MunicipalityRevenueExpendituresTax revenueSales taxDebt
StrattonUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 31.7% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,566$516$267$1,777
EadsUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 25.8% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,635$1,503$591$341$1,206
SwinkUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 40.2% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,049$1,133$252Not reported for this year$515
SimlaUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 23.3% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$538Not reported for this year
Kiowa$733$533$286Not reported for this year
OtisUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 78.3% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$771$167$69Not reported for this year
Peer median$771Benchmark unavailable$393$286Benchmark unavailable

Utilities marks a municipality whose revenue and spending include city-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit), which raises its per-resident totals.

Sources

Book a walkthrough