Orivian

Swink · FY2021 municipal finance benchmarks

Otero County · Eastern Plains · statutory town · Pop. 579 (2025 estimate); FY2021 per-resident figures use 610 · Census finance data FY2016, FY2021

Latest Census Bureau finance data for Swink: FY2021. Retrieved Oct 2026. Newer years are added when the Census Bureau publishes them. Why the lag?

FY2021 in brief

Swink collected $1,049 per resident (including city-run utilities), 58% below the median of the 227 Colorado municipalities reporting that year, 30% below its peers. Tax revenue per resident sits 54% below its peers, and 76% below the state median. Debt per resident runs 64% below the state median.

Generated from the figures below. Every number links to its Census source.

Compared with

Nearest on population, household income and region

FY2021 headline figures

Revenue per resident (definition)

$1,049
30% below peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$1,495
CO median · 227 with a published figure
$2,476
Position
Higher than 8% of the 227 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
+0.8%/yr

Expenditures per resident (definition)

$1,133
49% below CO median
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
Benchmark unavailable
CO median · 220 with a published figure
$2,208
Position
Higher than 13% of the 220 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
+3.4%/yr

Tax revenue per resident (definition)

$252
54% below peers
Peer median
$553
CO median · 201 with a published figure
$1,072
Position
Higher than 11% of the 201 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
+0.9%/yr

Debt per resident (definition)

$515
64% below CO median
Peer median
Benchmark unavailable
CO median · 199 with a published figure
$1,411
Position
Higher than 22% of the 199 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
−10.2%/yr

Where the money comes from and where it goes

Per resident, FY2021. Bars show Swink; the gold tick is the peer median. How categories work

On the revenue side, the biggest difference from peers is Sales tax: none reported, against a peer median of $304 per resident.

Money in

Revenue

$1,049
per resident30% below peers
Money in: Swink revenue per resident by category, FY2021, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$421in line withpeers $437
$32858% abovepeers $208
$16217% belowpeers $196
$9099% abovepeers $45
$4866% belowpeers $139
None reported · peers $304$0None reported
None reported · peers $49$0None reported
Peer median of 5 peers · Colorado median of 227 reporting

Money out

Spending

$1,133
per resident
Money out: Swink spending per resident by category, FY2021, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
Peer median unavailable$777No peer comparison
Peer median unavailable$198No peer comparison
Peer median unavailable$110No peer comparison
Peer median unavailable$25No peer comparison
Peer median unavailable$23No peer comparison
None reported$0None reported
Peer median of 2 peers · Colorado median of 220 reporting

Swink and its peers

The five Colorado municipalities nearest on population, median household income and region. Budget size isn’t a matching factor, so peers aren’t chosen on the figures being compared. Per resident, FY2021. How peers are chosen

Open in Compare
Swink compared with its peer municipalities, FY2021, per resident
MunicipalityRevenueExpendituresTax revenueSales taxDebt
SwinkUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 40.2% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,049$1,133$252Not reported for this year$515
StrattonUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 31.7% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,566$516$267$1,777
Cheyenne WellsUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 29.2% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,495$1,177$829$378Not reported for this year
SimlaUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 23.3% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$538Not reported for this year
EadsUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 25.8% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,635$1,503$591$341$1,206
OtisUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 78.3% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$771$167$69Not reported for this year
Peer median$1,495Benchmark unavailable$553Not reported for this yearBenchmark unavailable

Utilities marks a municipality whose revenue and spending include city-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit), which raises its per-resident totals.

Sources

Book a walkthrough