Orivian

Branson · FY2016 municipal finance benchmarks

Las Animas County · Southern Colorado · statutory town · Pop. 57 (2025 estimate); FY2016 per-resident figures use 67 · Census finance data FY2016, FY2021

You’re viewing FY2016. See the latest view (FY2021). Latest Census Bureau finance data for Branson: FY2021. Retrieved Oct 2026. Newer years are added when the Census Bureau publishes them. Why the lag?

FY2016 in brief

Branson collected $970 per resident (including city-run utilities), 44% below the median of the 224 Colorado municipalities reporting that year, in line with its peers. Tax revenue per resident sits in line with its peers, but 85% below the state median. Debt per resident runs 90% below peers.

Generated from the figures below. Every number links to its Census source.

Compared with

Nearest on population, household income and region

FY2016 headline figures

Revenue per resident (definition)

$970
in line with peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$953
CO median · 224 with a published figure
$1,746
Position
Higher than 22% of the 224 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Expenditures per resident (definition)

Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
Benchmark unavailable
CO median · 196 with a published figure
$1,749
Position
Not reported for this year
5-year changenominal dollars
Withheld with this year's value

Tax revenue per resident (definition)

$104
in line with peers
Peer median
$107
CO median · 193 with a published figure
$705
Position
Higher than 6% of the 193 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Debt per resident (definition)

$179
90% below peers
Peer median
$1,719
CO median · 220 with a published figure
$1,072
Position
Higher than 15% of the 220 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Where the money comes from and where it goes

Per resident, FY2016. Bars show Branson; the gold tick is the peer median. How categories work

On the revenue side, the biggest difference from peers is Fees & charges: $478 per resident, 79% above the peer median.

Money in

Revenue

$970
per residentin line with peers
Money in: Branson revenue per resident by category, FY2016, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$47879% abovepeers $267
$22410% belowpeers $250
$1642.9×peers $56
$1045% abovepeers $99
None reported · peers $58$0None reported
None reported · peers $13$0None reported
Peer median of 5 peers · Colorado median of 224 reporting

Money out

Spending

Categories are withheld with the total until it is verified against Branson’s audited financial report.

Peer median of 4 peers · Colorado median of 196 reporting

Branson and its peers

The five Colorado municipalities nearest on population, median household income and region. Budget size isn’t a matching factor, so peers aren’t chosen on the figures being compared. Per resident, FY2016. How peers are chosen

Open in Compare
Branson compared with its peer municipalities, FY2016, per resident
MunicipalityRevenueExpendituresTax revenueSales taxDebt
BransonUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 23.1% of total revenue in FY2016. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$970$104Not reported for this year$179
KimUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 54.5% of total revenue in FY2016. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$657$657$104Not reported for this year$1,299
StarkvilleUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 77.1% of total revenue in FY2016. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$923$365$154Not reported for this year$2,442
Cokedale$1,345$767Not reported for this year$5,293
RamahUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 23.0% of total revenue in FY2016. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$953$109Not reported for this year$180
GroverUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 25.6% of total revenue in FY2016. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$975$1,119$63Not reported for this year$1,719
Peer median$953Benchmark unavailable$107Not reported for this year$1,719

Utilities marks a municipality whose revenue and spending include city-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit), which raises its per-resident totals.

Sources

Book a walkthrough