Orivian

Cripple Creek · FY2021 municipal finance benchmarks

Teller County · Pikes Peak · statutory city · Pop. 1,120 (2025 estimate); FY2021 per-resident figures use 1,155 · Census finance data FY2016, FY2021, FY2023

You’re viewing FY2021. See the latest view (FY2023). Latest Census Bureau finance data for Cripple Creek: FY2023. Retrieved Oct 2026. Newer years are added when the Census Bureau publishes them. Why the lag?

FY2021 in brief

Cripple Creek collected $10,350 per resident (including city-run utilities), 4.2× the median of the 227 Colorado municipalities reporting that year, 5.9× its peers. Debt per resident runs 2.6× peers.

  • Tax revenue per resident withheld: Tax revenue per resident is 8.1x the peer median

Generated from the figures below. Every number links to its Census source.

Compared with

Nearest on population, household income and region

FY2021 headline figures

Revenue per resident (definition)

$10,350
5.9× peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$1,748
CO median · 227 with a published figure
$2,476
Position
Higher than 96% of the 227 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Expenditures per resident (definition)

$7,932
6.2× peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$1,276
CO median · 220 with a published figure
$2,208
Position
Higher than 94% of the 220 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
−2.0%/yr

Tax revenue per resident (definition)

Peer median
Benchmark unavailable
CO median · 201 with a published figure
$1,072
Position
Not reported for this year
5-year changenominal dollars
Withheld with this year's value

Debt per resident (definition)

$965
2.6× peers
Peer median
$374
CO median · 199 with a published figure
$1,411
Position
Higher than 37% of the 199 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
+0.1%/yr

Where the money comes from and where it goes

Per resident, FY2021. Bars show Cripple Creek; the gold tick is the peer median. How categories work

The biggest difference from peers is General government: $3,149 per resident, 9.7× the peer median. On the revenue side, intergovernmental is 8.8× peers.

Money in

Revenue

$10,350
per resident5.9× peers
Money in: Cripple Creek revenue per resident by category, FY2021, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$1,5748.8×peers $178
$1,20912.7×peers $95
$9662.5×peers $386
$36510% belowpeers $405
Withheldpeers $392
Withheldpeers $214
Withheldpeers $83
Peer median of 5 peers · Colorado median of 227 reporting

Money out

Spending

$7,932
per resident6.2× peers
Money out: Cripple Creek spending per resident by category, FY2021, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$3,1499.7×peers $325
$98715.5×peers $64
$96461% abovepeers $600
$3717.5×peers $50
$2943.5×peers $1
$2547% abovepeers $17
$1No peer comparisonpeers $0
Withheld
Peer median of 4 peers · Colorado median of 220 reporting

Cripple Creek and its peers

The five Colorado municipalities nearest on population, median household income and region. Budget size isn’t a matching factor, so peers aren’t chosen on the figures being compared. Per resident, FY2021. How peers are chosen

Open in Compare
Cripple Creek compared with its peer municipalities, FY2021, per resident
MunicipalityRevenueExpendituresTax revenueSales taxDebt
Cripple CreekUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 9.3% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$10,350$7,932$803$965
CalhanUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 22.1% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,748$1,398$840$686$117
La VetaUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 24.7% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,913$858$699Not reported for this year
PierceUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 17.6% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$2,023$1,720$773$392$49
GilcrestUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 12.0% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,696$1,068$620$199$632
Deer TrailUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 42.4% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,174$1,155Not reported for this year$1,781
Peer median$1,748$1,276Benchmark unavailable$539$374

Utilities marks a municipality whose revenue and spending include city-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit), which raises its per-resident totals.

Sources

Book a walkthrough