Orivian

Hillrose · FY2021 municipal finance benchmarks

Morgan County · Eastern Plains · statutory town · Pop. 312 (2025 estimate); FY2021 per-resident figures use 306 · Census finance data FY2016, FY2021

Latest Census Bureau finance data for Hillrose: FY2021. Retrieved Oct 2026. Newer years are added when the Census Bureau publishes them. Why the lag?

FY2021 in brief

Hillrose collected $1,163 per resident (including city-run utilities), 53% below the median of the 227 Colorado municipalities reporting that year, 7% above its peers. Tax revenue per resident sits 9% below its peers, and 91% below the state median. Debt per resident runs 11% above the state median.

Generated from the figures below. Every number links to its Census source.

Compared with

Nearest on population, household income and region

FY2021 headline figures

Revenue per resident (definition)

$1,163
7% above peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$1,091
CO median · 227 with a published figure
$2,476
Position
Higher than 11% of the 227 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
+1.8%/yr

Expenditures per resident (definition)

$879
16% below peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$1,047
CO median · 220 with a published figure
$2,208
Position
Higher than 6% of the 220 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
−1.8%/yr

Tax revenue per resident (definition)

$101
9% below peers
Peer median
$112
CO median · 201 with a published figure
$1,072
Position
Higher than 4% of the 201 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
+0.0%/yr

Debt per resident (definition)

$1,569
11% above CO median
Peer median
Benchmark unavailable
CO median · 199 with a published figure
$1,411
Position
Higher than 55% of the 199 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
−9.8%/yr

Where the money comes from and where it goes

Per resident, FY2021. Bars show Hillrose; the gold tick is the peer median. How categories work

The biggest difference from peers is Utilities & environment: $549 per resident, 55% above the peer median. On the revenue side, utility & transit charges is 50% above peers.

Money in

Revenue

$1,163
per resident7% above peers
Money in: Hillrose revenue per resident by category, FY2021, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$45450% abovepeers $302
$35010% abovepeers $318
$22986% abovepeers $123
$788% abovepeers $73
$2988% abovepeers $16
$2320% belowpeers $29
Peer median of 5 peers · Colorado median of 227 reporting

Money out

Spending

$879
per resident16% below peers
Money out: Hillrose spending per resident by category, FY2021, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$54955% abovepeers $354
$18622% belowpeers $239
$693.5×peers $19
$4621.3×peers $2
$292.5×peers $12
None reported · peers $97$0None reported
Peer median of 4 peers · Colorado median of 220 reporting

Hillrose and its peers

The five Colorado municipalities nearest on population, median household income and region. Budget size isn’t a matching factor, so peers aren’t chosen on the figures being compared. Per resident, FY2021. How peers are chosen

Open in Compare
Hillrose compared with its peer municipalities, FY2021, per resident
MunicipalityRevenueExpendituresTax revenueSales taxDebt
HillroseUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 39.0% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,163$879$101Not reported for this year$1,569
Olney SpringsUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 35.4% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$741$1,144Not reported for this year$2,563
MerinoUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 35.0% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,106$951$176Not reported for this year$894
Kit CarsonUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 52.0% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,091$461$217Not reported for this year
IliffUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 36.1% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$837$78Not reported for this yearNot reported for this year
CherawUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 9.7% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,687$1,687$112Not reported for this yearNot reported for this year
Peer median$1,091$1,047$112Not reported for this yearBenchmark unavailable

Utilities marks a municipality whose revenue and spending include city-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit), which raises its per-resident totals.

Sources

Book a walkthrough