Orivian

Merino · FY2021 municipal finance benchmarks

Logan County · Eastern Plains · statutory town · Pop. 276 (2025 estimate); FY2021 per-resident figures use 284 · Census finance data FY2016, FY2021

Latest Census Bureau finance data for Merino: FY2021. Retrieved Oct 2026. Newer years are added when the Census Bureau publishes them. Why the lag?

FY2021 in brief

Merino collected $1,106 per resident (including city-run utilities), 55% below the median of the 227 Colorado municipalities reporting that year, in line with its peers. Tax revenue per resident sits 74% above its peers, but 84% below the state median. Debt per resident runs 37% below the state median.

Generated from the figures below. Every number links to its Census source.

Compared with

Nearest on population, household income and region

FY2021 headline figures

Revenue per resident (definition)

$1,106
in line with peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$1,091
CO median · 227 with a published figure
$2,476
Position
Higher than 10% of the 227 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Expenditures per resident (definition)

$951
6% below peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$1,011
CO median · 220 with a published figure
$2,208
Position
Higher than 8% of the 220 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
−36.3%/yr

Tax revenue per resident (definition)

$176
74% above peers
Peer median
$101
CO median · 201 with a published figure
$1,072
Position
Higher than 7% of the 201 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Debt per resident (definition)

$894
37% below CO median
Peer median
Benchmark unavailable
CO median · 199 with a published figure
$1,411
Position
Higher than 35% of the 199 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
−20.7%/yr

Where the money comes from and where it goes

Per resident, FY2021. Bars show Merino; the gold tick is the peer median. How categories work

The biggest difference from peers is General government: $349 per resident, 2.2× the peer median. On the revenue side, utility & transit charges is 28% above peers.

Money in

Revenue

$1,106
per residentin line with peers
Money in: Merino revenue per resident by category, FY2021, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$39123% abovepeers $318
$38728% abovepeers $302
$12323% belowpeers $159
$924.0×peers $23
$8516% abovepeers $73
$2880% abovepeers $16
Peer median of 5 peers · Colorado median of 227 reporting

Money out

Spending

$951
per resident6% below peers
Money out: Merino spending per resident by category, FY2021, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$3492.2×peers $158
$29638% belowpeers $481
$1874.7×peers $39
$6329.5×peers $2
$3913% abovepeers $34
$1818% abovepeers $15
Peer median of 4 peers · Colorado median of 220 reporting

Merino and its peers

The five Colorado municipalities nearest on population, median household income and region. Budget size isn’t a matching factor, so peers aren’t chosen on the figures being compared. Per resident, FY2021. How peers are chosen

Open in Compare
Merino compared with its peer municipalities, FY2021, per resident
MunicipalityRevenueExpendituresTax revenueSales taxDebt
MerinoUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 35.0% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,106$951$176Not reported for this year$894
HillroseUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 39.0% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,163$879$101Not reported for this year$1,569
Olney SpringsUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 35.4% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$741$1,144Not reported for this year$2,563
Kit CarsonUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 52.0% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,091$461$217Not reported for this year
IliffUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 36.1% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$837$78Not reported for this yearNot reported for this year
CherawUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 9.7% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,687$1,687$112Not reported for this yearNot reported for this year
Peer median$1,091$1,011$101Not reported for this yearBenchmark unavailable

Utilities marks a municipality whose revenue and spending include city-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit), which raises its per-resident totals.

Sources

Book a walkthrough