Orivian

Olney Springs · FY2021 municipal finance benchmarks

Crowley County · Eastern Plains · statutory town · Pop. 288 (2025 estimate); FY2021 per-resident figures use 320 · Census finance data FY2016, FY2018, FY2019, FY2020, FY2021, FY2022, FY2023

You’re viewing FY2021. See the latest view (FY2023). Latest Census Bureau finance data for Olney Springs: FY2023. Retrieved Oct 2026. Newer years are added when the Census Bureau publishes them. Why the lag?

FY2021 in brief

Olney Springs collected $741 per resident (including city-run utilities), 70% below the median of the 227 Colorado municipalities reporting that year, 33% below its peers. Debt per resident runs 3.4× peers.

  • Tax revenue per resident withheld: Tax revenue per resident is 14% of the peer median

Generated from the figures below. Every number links to its Census source.

Compared with

Nearest on population, household income and region

FY2021 headline figures

Revenue per resident (definition)

$741
33% below peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$1,106
CO median · 227 with a published figure
$2,476
Position
Higher than 4% of the 227 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
+11.4%/yr

Expenditures per resident (definition)

$1,144
41% above peers
Includes city-owned utilities
Peer median
$811
CO median · 220 with a published figure
$2,208
Position
Higher than 14% of the 220 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Tax revenue per resident (definition)

Peer median
Benchmark unavailable
CO median · 201 with a published figure
$1,072
Position
Not reported for this year
5-year changenominal dollars
Withheld with this year's value

Debt per resident (definition)

$2,563
3.4× peers
Peer median
$759
CO median · 199 with a published figure
$1,411
Position
Higher than 72% of the 199 reporting
5-year changenominal dollars
Not enough history for a 5-year change

Where the money comes from and where it goes

Per resident, FY2021. Bars show Olney Springs; the gold tick is the peer median. How categories work

The biggest difference from peers is General government: $519 per resident, 3.3× the peer median. On the revenue side, utility & transit charges is 32% below peers.

Money in

Revenue

$741
per resident33% below peers
Money in: Olney Springs revenue per resident by category, FY2021, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$27521% belowpeers $350
$26332% belowpeers $387
$15929% abovepeers $123
$1645% belowpeers $28
None reported · peers $23$0None reported
None reported · peers $21$0None reported
Withheldpeers $84
Peer median of 5 peers · Colorado median of 227 reporting

Money out

Spending

$1,144
per resident41% above peers
Money out: Olney Springs spending per resident by category, FY2021, against the peer median. Open a category for its lines and Census item codes.
CategoryPer residentvs peers
$5193.3×peers $158
$41313% abovepeers $365
$2069.9×peers $21
$670% belowpeers $21
None reported · peers $118$0None reported
None reported · peers $45$0None reported
Peer median of 4 peers · Colorado median of 220 reporting

Olney Springs and its peers

The five Colorado municipalities nearest on population, median household income and region. Budget size isn’t a matching factor, so peers aren’t chosen on the figures being compared. Per resident, FY2021. How peers are chosen

Open in Compare
Olney Springs compared with its peer municipalities, FY2021, per resident
MunicipalityRevenueExpendituresTax revenueSales taxDebt
Olney SpringsUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 35.4% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$741$1,144Not reported for this year$2,563
HillroseUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 39.0% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,163$879$101Not reported for this year$1,569
MerinoUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 35.0% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,106$951$176Not reported for this year$894
Kit CarsonUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 52.0% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,091$461$217Not reported for this year
WileyUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 23.0% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$1,062$304$167$623
ManzanolaUtilities: City-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit) brought in 13.3% of total revenue in FY2021. Revenue and spending per resident include them, so cities that run their own utilities read higher than cities that don't.$2,639$743$198$41$107
Peer median$1,106$811Benchmark unavailableNot reported for this year$759

Utilities marks a municipality whose revenue and spending include city-owned utilities (water, electric, gas, transit), which raises its per-resident totals.

Sources

Book a walkthrough